Page 119 of 120

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2020 8:31 am
by jaysona
to-ma-to, to-mah-to
po-ta-to, po-tah-to

PRC, ROC, still Chinese.

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2020 12:11 pm
by rafale
In this case it is more like to-ma-to, po-ta-to. Or saying that Americans and Mexicans are the same. Ignorance is a bliss.

Especially given the point you are trying to make is completely non-sensical, could be offensive and prejudiced.

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2020 12:31 pm
by OneCD
jaysona wrote:
Wed Sep 23, 2020 8:31 am
PRC, ROC, still Chinese.
@jaysona please refrain from posting comments that could be considered racially inflammatory. This community forum is based-around a Taiwanese company and such comments are not welcome. Thank you.

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2020 1:42 pm
by drdope
310Flyer wrote:
Tue Sep 22, 2020 11:56 pm
Wow. QNAP got back to me that they want USD $1,670 for me to send the 882T in for repair. They won't just send me a back plane. This pretty much gaurantees I'll never buy QNAP again if this is the support one can expect post-purchase.
I had a similar bad experience with a defective TS-677, which had a broken CPU fan (loud as f*ck; bearing broken) while still under warranty.
QNAP Support insisted that the fan is non-user-replaceable part and the unit had to be to QNAP Germany for repair.
--> https://download.qnap.com/Storage/Techn ... -04-en.pdf
(Page 35)
Qnap also couldn't provide any information, if the "repair will take 3 days, 3 weeks, or the 3 month.
For a unit that is marketed as a small/medium business solution this is (imho) not acceptable.

In the end I bought a replacement fan in China and changed it myself, which took less than 10 minutes (excluding shutdown/restart) an involved 6 screws (3 for chassis, one for the fan-assembly and 2 for the fan itself). Yeah, you really need certified repair for that...
:cry:
QNAP support is in a dismal state in my opinion.

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Posted: Fri Oct 16, 2020 1:58 am
by dagar21
rgarjr wrote:
Sun Jul 12, 2020 12:35 am
immaculatec wrote:
Sat Jul 11, 2020 4:43 pm
Hi,

I have been trying to find Noctua NH-L12 but no luck so far, so any suggestion would be appreciated. I would like to stick to air cooling..
You're in luck cause the Noctua NH-L12 just got resurrected thanks to Louqe Ghost sffpc case. It is now called the NH-L12 Ghost Edition.
Its ready out of the box or i have to buy 8mm long standoffs?

Thanks

Pd: My Corsair h5 water pump broke and now is out of stock.

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Posted: Fri Oct 16, 2020 2:05 am
by rgarjr
look on page 109 on this thread

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Posted: Fri Oct 16, 2020 10:53 pm
by dagar21
Thank you.

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2020 6:55 am
by jerryt
To answer my own questions,

Did anyone get HDMI sound working?
It would appear that Bios update helps, setting power to maximum in windows VM helps, and then there is
Windows: Line-Based vs. Message Signaled-Based Interrupts. MSI tool.
https://forums.guru3d.com/threads/windo ... ol.378044/
Plus, I see a note that if HDMI sound does not work on a compatible card to contact the help desk.
https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/faq/arti ... on-station

What was the latest bios link posted for the TVS-1282T?
The latest versions of the bios are;
TVS-1282T SkyLake QX80AT21 (As per help desk 11-5-2020)
TVS-1282T Kaby Lake QZ03AT12

Looking for best windows 10 desktop experience...

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Posted: Fri Dec 11, 2020 9:49 am
by rgarjr
SkyLake to KabyLake blog in German - Looks like it's possible to make the jump.
https://www.meintechblog.de/2020/11/pim ... more-14535

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Posted: Fri Dec 11, 2020 4:00 pm
by peelos
rgarjr wrote:
Fri Dec 11, 2020 9:49 am
SkyLake to KabyLake blog in German - Looks like it's possible to make the jump.
https://www.meintechblog.de/2020/11/pim ... more-14535
great share, thanks - its been discussed for years on this forum!

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Posted: Sun Dec 13, 2020 10:45 pm
by okenny
I just followed this guide, and it worked! I swapped my i7-6700k for an i7-7700k (I had one available, so why not?)

Although the CPU is working, it seems to be overheating. I am getting the message:
"CPU Clock [Hardware Status] CPU frequency reduced to 0.8 GHz."

I am using the Corsiar H5 SF which was fine with the i7-6700k. I may have done a poor job of cleaning and repasting (might redo it, didn't have any alcohol).

Is anyone here using a TVS-1282 with an i7-7700k? If so, which cooler are you using? I consider switching to a Noctua air cooler NH-l12 which fits apparently. Another idea would be a much larger air cooler and an open case (in my rack). Any suggestions?

EDIT: at idle I am getting the 4.2GHz as expected, but when the NAS does something, it throttles to ~1.2GHz :( Seems stable though, no crashes or anything.

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Posted: Mon Dec 14, 2020 1:17 am
by L3rd
Are you sure that the water pump power connector is plugged into the motherboard?

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Posted: Mon Dec 14, 2020 2:44 am
by okenny
L3rd wrote:
Mon Dec 14, 2020 1:17 am
Are you sure that the water pump power connector is plugged into the motherboard?
yep, the aio seems to be running ok.
I popped the lid off the NAS and that has improved things somewhat. Temps have dropped a little and the throttling only happens occasionally. Drive temps seem ok too.
I will try cleaning the CPU and aio again and repasting. Failing that I am tempted to leave the case open and add a larger air cooler. I have one around somewhere.

EDIT: The AIO has been in use for more than 4 years (since the TVS-1282 came out), maybe it's just not performing as it was? I heard that the performance can drop over time?

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Posted: Mon Dec 14, 2020 2:58 am
by L3rd
Check the value reported in the BIOS (fan speed).
It can help to detect if there is an issue with it.

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Posted: Mon Dec 14, 2020 3:18 am
by okenny
L3rd wrote:
Mon Dec 14, 2020 2:58 am
Check the value reported in the BIOS (fan speed).
It can help to detect if there is an issue with it.
Why in the BIOS? Hooking up a monitor again would be a pain, as the NAS is in the rack again. The HW information page shows 2800 RPM.