iSCSI Lun location

iSCSI related applications
Post Reply
inter-rupteur
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 1:59 am

iSCSI Lun location

Post by inter-rupteur » Sun Jun 28, 2020 3:32 pm

Model : TS-453A
Firmware : 4.4.2.1320

-------------------

Hi everyone,

i hope all is OK !! :wink:

Please i'm looking for the iSCSI LUN location ? I create a new LUN and i didn't find where is stored... I refer to this site " https://wiki.qnap.com/wiki/Replicate_iSCSI_LUN" but nothing (didn't find...).
i run a research with ".@iscsi.img", but nothing too...

Perhaps my firmware is newer and the location of the LUN is different... So let me know please.

Thanks for your help.


Inter-Rupteur

inter-rupteur
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 1:59 am

Re: iSCSI Lun location

Post by inter-rupteur » Tue Jun 30, 2020 6:54 am

Can anyone help me please ?

Thanks
Inter-Rupteur

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 7343
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: iSCSI Lun location

Post by OneCD » Tue Jun 30, 2020 7:03 am

inter-rupteur wrote:
Sun Jun 28, 2020 3:32 pm
Please i'm looking for the iSCSI LUN location ?
What do you plan to do with it when you find it? ;)
inter-rupteur wrote:
Sun Jun 28, 2020 3:32 pm
I create a new LUN and i didn't find where is stored.
Did you create a file-based or block-based LUN? Which one?

https://www.qnap.com/en-au/how-to/tutor ... -qnap-nas/

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

inter-rupteur
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 1:59 am

Re: iSCSI Lun location

Post by inter-rupteur » Wed Jul 01, 2020 11:36 pm

Hi OneCD,

thanks for your response !! ;-)

Block-based...

The config :

- create a LUN in the QNAP A ==> copy this LUN to a QNAP B
- modify the Qnap B to restore this LUN
- install an app (I haven't searched yet) for sync or replication
- install an app like HAproxy, tengine or Nginx (in TCP mode for iscsi)

The idea :

in the Qnap World, there is no HA. So, i'm looking for a solution where i can use 2 Qnap in actif-actif mode for the storage ! I know there are Hyperconvergence like StardWind, Nutanix, etc... But i'm not satisfied and i want a solution in the qnap directly, whithout tierce software or system... In my virtual environment, i have not a lot VM (about 15) with 35 to 50 Go storage by VM... So it's not a big infra.

I know it's possible to do that, but i need to find the better solution without cost...

Perhaps, you have an idea or software i can use to carry out this vision that I have of hyperconvergence ...

Thanks a lot OneCD
Inter-Rupteur

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 7343
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: iSCSI Lun location

Post by OneCD » Thu Jul 02, 2020 3:25 am

:shock:

I've not heard of "hyperconvergence" before, so I'm probably not the right person to help.

If it was a file-based LUN, I could help, but block-based are outside my experience. Sorry. :(

Maybe someone else can assist?

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

inter-rupteur
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 1:59 am

Re: iSCSI Lun location

Post by inter-rupteur » Fri Jul 03, 2020 6:24 am

Hi OneCD,

Thanks ! ;-)

if Qnap had a HA solution, this avoids the problem of having to rack my brain....

:? :?

if someone sees the light, he can come in.... :lol:



Inter-rupteur

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 18702
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: iSCSI Lun location

Post by dolbyman » Fri Jul 03, 2020 6:46 am

Pools and block LUN get an entry in \dev\mapper

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Device_mapper

Post Reply

Return to “iSCSI – Target & Virtual Disk”