iscsi newbee question create second pool or extend existing

iSCSI related applications
Post Reply
User avatar
aarbee
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 383
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:54 am

iscsi newbee question create second pool or extend existing

Post by aarbee » Wed Feb 14, 2018 9:41 am

I am thinking about fiddeling a bit around with a iscsi connection.
And I wonder which is best: Add 2 disks extra in my TVS-673 and connect to the Raid 6 Storage Pool, or create a raid 1 out of 2 disk, and put the iscsi on the second Storage Pool?

Thanks ahead.
Friendly Greetings,

RobB

Model: TvS-673 40GB (2*32+2*4) - 20170215
Disks Raid 6: 2.5" 4x WD red 1TB active, 2 spare(nasware2/Nasware3)
Cache: Cache SSD: Crucial M.2 275GB 2x
UPS: Back-UPS Pro BR900G-GR
---
Model: TS-239 PRO II - Raid 1: 2x WD Red 4TB
Model: TS-219P II+ - Raid 1: 2x HGST Deskstar-nas 3TB

Reserve 1x HGST Deskstar-nas 4TB
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Media Boxe: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My it weblog ( http://www.nononsensecomputer.nl

User avatar
Trexx
Ask me anything
Posts: 5306
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: iscsi newbee question create second pool or extend existing

Post by Trexx » Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:17 am

Add 2 disks to existing R6 pool, which will increase your overall IOPS capability as well as give you 1 Drive extra worth of disk space vs. a Raid-1
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.3.x
QTS (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
Data (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar
VMs (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
Ext. (HDD): TR-004 [Raid-5] 4 x 4TB HGST Ultastor
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060 6GB
UPS: CP AVR1350

Model:TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
Model:TS-228a FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

User avatar
aarbee
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 383
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:54 am

Re: iscsi newbee question create second pool or extend existing

Post by aarbee » Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:26 am

Thanks Trexx.

So go from 4 disk raid 6 to 6 disk raid 6.
Then use the extra to create ISCSI datavol?
Friendly Greetings,

RobB

Model: TvS-673 40GB (2*32+2*4) - 20170215
Disks Raid 6: 2.5" 4x WD red 1TB active, 2 spare(nasware2/Nasware3)
Cache: Cache SSD: Crucial M.2 275GB 2x
UPS: Back-UPS Pro BR900G-GR
---
Model: TS-239 PRO II - Raid 1: 2x WD Red 4TB
Model: TS-219P II+ - Raid 1: 2x HGST Deskstar-nas 3TB

Reserve 1x HGST Deskstar-nas 4TB
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Media Boxe: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My it weblog ( http://www.nononsensecomputer.nl

User avatar
storageman
Ask me anything
Posts: 5511
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: iscsi newbee question create second pool or extend existing

Post by storageman » Wed Feb 14, 2018 6:37 pm

More spindles more speed....better idea than separate RAID

User avatar
aarbee
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 383
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:54 am

Re: iscsi newbee question create second pool or extend existing

Post by aarbee » Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:23 pm

Thank you Maestros.

My purpose is to add a pc/server in order to run Plex and eventually all the VM's.
And use the iSCSI storage on this Qnap (673).
It has todo with the fact that Plex can run out of CPU if you have two 20bit stream.

Buy a tougher Qnap is a costly adventure.
Friendly Greetings,

RobB

Model: TvS-673 40GB (2*32+2*4) - 20170215
Disks Raid 6: 2.5" 4x WD red 1TB active, 2 spare(nasware2/Nasware3)
Cache: Cache SSD: Crucial M.2 275GB 2x
UPS: Back-UPS Pro BR900G-GR
---
Model: TS-239 PRO II - Raid 1: 2x WD Red 4TB
Model: TS-219P II+ - Raid 1: 2x HGST Deskstar-nas 3TB

Reserve 1x HGST Deskstar-nas 4TB
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Media Boxe: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My it weblog ( http://www.nononsensecomputer.nl

User avatar
Trexx
Ask me anything
Posts: 5306
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: iscsi newbee question create second pool or extend existing

Post by Trexx » Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:27 pm

aarbee wrote:Thank you Maestros.

My purpose is to add a pc/server in order to run Plex and eventually all the VM's.
And use the iSCSI storage on this Qnap (673).
It has todo with the fact that Plex can run out of CPU if you have two 20bit stream.

Buy a tougher Qnap is a costly adventure.


Or other option would be to do an upgrade to TS-x77 Ryzen box family. It will handle Plex and your VM's like a champ. Then either sell your x73 or it use for backups :).

Doesn't everyone have multiple NAS? :DD
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.3.x
QTS (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
Data (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar
VMs (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
Ext. (HDD): TR-004 [Raid-5] 4 x 4TB HGST Ultastor
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060 6GB
UPS: CP AVR1350

Model:TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
Model:TS-228a FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

User avatar
aarbee
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 383
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:54 am

Re: iscsi newbee question create second pool or extend existing

Post by aarbee » Thu Feb 15, 2018 12:02 am

I have allready 3 ;-)
673
239
219.
Where the 239 is an external location. For file serving there (must be cheap on electricity), and my daily backup.
But the 673 is expensive as a backup only.

A new pc (I was either thinking about the Microserver from SuperMicro or a AMD 2400G+mainboard+ 16GB mem)
Or the 877 that you have for nearly 2000 euro.
If I look at the Watts, then is the 877 about the same as the 673. The supermicro about 40watts (90 euro per year.)
On the otherhand, I was also thinking to replace the remote 239 with a 253 especially for the VMware snapshots. This is also more than a peanut.
So the SuperMicro+253 = about the same price as a 877-1600.
Friendly Greetings,

RobB

Model: TvS-673 40GB (2*32+2*4) - 20170215
Disks Raid 6: 2.5" 4x WD red 1TB active, 2 spare(nasware2/Nasware3)
Cache: Cache SSD: Crucial M.2 275GB 2x
UPS: Back-UPS Pro BR900G-GR
---
Model: TS-239 PRO II - Raid 1: 2x WD Red 4TB
Model: TS-219P II+ - Raid 1: 2x HGST Deskstar-nas 3TB

Reserve 1x HGST Deskstar-nas 4TB
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Media Boxe: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My it weblog ( http://www.nononsensecomputer.nl

User avatar
aarbee
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 383
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:54 am

Re: iscsi newbee question create second pool or extend existing

Post by aarbee » Thu Feb 15, 2018 5:05 pm

I will review what I will do in the future with the pc/877 on a later date.

But I have a question. Because I would like to go from a 5 disk raid 6 to a 4 disk raid 5 or 6. Because I want to get rid of the smallest limiting disk.
I am not sure if my idea would work.
Add a 6th disk. Create Datavol 2 in it. Create several libraries here. Move/copy the data. (including virtual machines) Change the Sharedfolder from Datavol 1 to Datavol 2.
Then as last step, delete Datavol 1. Start building it with Raid 1.
Move everything back.

I am afraid, that if I delete Datavol 1, that everything is lost.
Friendly Greetings,

RobB

Model: TvS-673 40GB (2*32+2*4) - 20170215
Disks Raid 6: 2.5" 4x WD red 1TB active, 2 spare(nasware2/Nasware3)
Cache: Cache SSD: Crucial M.2 275GB 2x
UPS: Back-UPS Pro BR900G-GR
---
Model: TS-239 PRO II - Raid 1: 2x WD Red 4TB
Model: TS-219P II+ - Raid 1: 2x HGST Deskstar-nas 3TB

Reserve 1x HGST Deskstar-nas 4TB
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Media Boxe: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My it weblog ( http://www.nononsensecomputer.nl

Post Reply

Return to “iSCSI – Target & Virtual Disk”