mix size of hdd on nas

Printers, HDDs, USB/eSATA drives, 3rd-party programs
Post Reply
big277
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 3:48 am

mix size of hdd on nas

Post by big277 » Mon Jun 29, 2020 6:22 pm

hello friends ,
today i have qnap 469L and inside ( 4 bay) - * 4 hdd of 3tb total 12TB
today all the hdd combind together in raid 5

i want to change on of the hdd to 12 TB and leave the other inside the nas ( 3* 3TB) + 12TB

1. can i use in this type - mix HDD ?
2. can i use it on raid 05 ?

tanks for the help

TheTruePhoenix
Starting out
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 9:01 am

Re: mix size of hdd on nas

Post by TheTruePhoenix » Mon Jun 29, 2020 7:09 pm

If you use that with a RAID5 you wouldn't get any more space. I believe you can upgrade the drives one at a time from 3TB to 12 TB, but the space available won't be able to be expanded until you make all drives larger than the original 3tb one.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 18699
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: mix size of hdd on nas

Post by dolbyman » Mon Jun 29, 2020 9:02 pm

also if your total space is 12TB , then your raid level is 0 not 5

on raid5 it would be closer to 9TB(*0.9)

big277
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 3:48 am

Re: mix size of hdd on nas

Post by big277 » Thu Jul 09, 2020 3:27 am

hello ,

i upgrade for hdd 12TB + 8TB and 2hdd 3tb*2

what is the best option in the first install of the nas ?

for now i tried raid0 and thin volume

is this ok or not ?

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 18699
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: mix size of hdd on nas

Post by dolbyman » Thu Jul 09, 2020 3:30 am

avoid raid0 at all cost .. you will lose all data on single drive failure

big277
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 3:48 am

Re: mix size of hdd on nas

Post by big277 » Thu Jul 09, 2020 3:34 am

tanks for the replay my friend

what are you suggest for best setting and the best option the catch most of the capacity of the hdd's ?

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 18699
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: mix size of hdd on nas

Post by dolbyman » Thu Jul 09, 2020 3:36 am

two raid1

12+8TB and 3+3TB

I wouldn't do anything else (I also wouldn't mix drive sizes like that .. but oh well)

big277
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 3:48 am

Re: mix size of hdd on nas

Post by big277 » Thu Jul 09, 2020 3:43 am

ok ..

thin or thik volume ?

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 18699
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: mix size of hdd on nas

Post by dolbyman » Thu Jul 09, 2020 3:47 am

each with either a static volume or a thick volume .. if you don't have a specific reason for thin provisioning .. don't do it

big277
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 3:48 am

Re: mix size of hdd on nas

Post by big277 » Thu Jul 09, 2020 4:03 am

the problom is that when i set 12+8 in raid 1 i see only 7.27TB

where all the rest capacity ? of the 2 hdds ?

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 18699
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: mix size of hdd on nas

Post by dolbyman » Thu Jul 09, 2020 4:05 am

google how RAID1 works and you will find out

best thing .. get 4 same size disks and create a RAID5 or 6.. fondling around with different sizes will end up in frustration and/or disaster

big277
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 3:48 am

Re: mix size of hdd on nas

Post by big277 » Thu Jul 09, 2020 4:12 am

to bad ... i just boghet it allready

big277
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 3:48 am

Re: mix size of hdd on nas

Post by big277 » Thu Jul 09, 2020 1:39 pm

hi , i understand that raid 0 is risk - but what is the difrence between the JBOD ?

I mean if data will lost it will lost only the specific hdd or the same as raid 0 ?

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 18699
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: mix size of hdd on nas

Post by dolbyman » Thu Jul 09, 2020 10:16 pm

spanning jbod is the same (in terms of dataloss) ..you lose one drive you lose all data

same goes for pooled single drives

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware & Software Compatibility”