Can't connect from windows.

Windows Access Rights Management
Post Reply
xev11
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 2:36 am

Can't connect from windows.

Post by xev11 » Sun Mar 29, 2020 6:24 am

I had a windows network share working and a couple days ago it disconnected. Current on version 4.4.1.1216 for TS 451+

Now the error is: Windows cannot access \\NAS.
Trying to add it again results in the same issue.
I have already changed WS discovery to SMB 3.
451+ vers. 4.3.4.0644
3 WD 4TB drives RAID 5 ~~ 6.97 TB usable

torch1
Know my way around
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 4:53 am

Re: Can't connect from windows.

Post by torch1 » Sun Mar 29, 2020 9:05 pm

Does the NAS show up on your router's client list? Have you tried to access it using IP address (192.168.X.X)?

xev11
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 2:36 am

Re: Can't connect from windows.

Post by xev11 » Mon Mar 30, 2020 3:27 am

Yes i can connect via a browser and it is in my router's client list.
451+ vers. 4.3.4.0644
3 WD 4TB drives RAID 5 ~~ 6.97 TB usable

Pugzi
Starting out
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2020 7:16 pm

Re: Can't connect from windows.

Post by Pugzi » Mon Apr 20, 2020 8:35 pm

Did you find the solution? I have a similar/same

I get the message "windows cannot access \\xxx" when I click the NAS on file explorer. It lists the NAS under Network / Computer in file explorer, but when I double click it to access it, I get that message.
My other computer sees the NAS on file explorer as well and accesses it no problem through file explorer. The only difference is that this is the one that was used to set up NAS
Both computers set up and access the NAS through LAN.
Is it anything to do with Domain Security?
QNAP TS-251+ 4GB RAM Ver 4.4.2.1270 2x4TB Raid 1

xev11
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 2:36 am

Re: Can't connect from windows.

Post by xev11 » Thu Apr 23, 2020 3:29 am

Pugzi wrote:
Mon Apr 20, 2020 8:35 pm
Did you find the solution? I have a similar/same

I get the message "windows cannot access \\xxx" when I click the NAS on file explorer. It lists the NAS under Network / Computer in file explorer, but when I double click it to access it, I get that message.
My other computer sees the NAS on file explorer as well and accesses it no problem through file explorer. The only difference is that this is the one that was used to set up NAS
Both computers set up and access the NAS through LAN.
Is it anything to do with Domain Security?
I never found a solution but i also haven't spent much more time on it. I just copied over the files which i needed to use onto an external drive and connected that to my pc.
451+ vers. 4.3.4.0644
3 WD 4TB drives RAID 5 ~~ 6.97 TB usable

keysteal
Starting out
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 2:47 am

Re: Can't connect from windows.

Post by keysteal » Sun Apr 26, 2020 3:36 pm

I have the same problem. After the latest firmware update I can't connect from Windows File Explorer. It always returns "an extended error has occurred".
My QNAP is a backup domain controller and my firmware is 4.4.2.1270.

chesbb
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 10:15 pm

Re: Can't connect from windows.

Post by chesbb » Mon May 04, 2020 9:26 pm

Did anyone ever find a solution? I am having the same problem firmware 4.4.2.1270, TS-251a

eb4fbz
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 3:57 am

Re: Can't connect from windows.

Post by eb4fbz » Tue May 05, 2020 2:13 am

Check /var/log/log.smbd

jacquesb
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 5:22 am

Re: Can't connect from windows.

Post by jacquesb » Sat May 09, 2020 12:28 am

it's most likely access permissions. few thing you can try. in windows control panel delete the client credentials for the nas then check on the nas security that your pc ip not blocked. the try it again \\nasname. it should now ask for the credentials again.

thewadehome
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2020 6:00 am

Re: Can't connect from windows.

Post by thewadehome » Wed Oct 07, 2020 8:02 am

So, here's what I did.

Open Command Prompt
Type net use \\[NASNAME] /u:[NASNAME]\admin
Enter your admin password

You should get a message saying The Command completed successfully

From that point on you should be able to connect to the NAS through Windows explorer when you use \\[NASNAME]

s6xbucks
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2020 12:16 am

Re: Can't connect from windows.

Post by s6xbucks » Thu Nov 26, 2020 12:19 am

Thanks for this thewadehome, I've been going nuts with this issue.

Quick question though. When I restarted my computer the next day I had lost access to the nas and needed to use your solution again. Should that be happening or should it maintain the connection? Is there something else I need to do?

Thanks again, and for any future help.

s6xbucks
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2020 12:16 am

Re: Can't connect from windows.

Post by s6xbucks » Tue Dec 01, 2020 12:07 am

Any thoughts on staying connected after a restart?

Post Reply

Return to “Windows”