Can't Connect to QNAP from PC

Windows Access Rights Management
Post Reply
Baldbug
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 9:51 am

Can't Connect to QNAP from PC

Post by Baldbug » Fri Oct 09, 2020 10:50 am

We did a Firmware upgrade with our Qnap on 2nd October which knocked out the Daily Backup and connection to PC.
We have had 3 x techies look at the QNAP setup none of 3 Techies can get a connection from the QNAP to a PC of PC Laptop.
We can access the Qnap with all our Apple Macs via Apple AFP.
A backup has been done and is now set to backup each day.
There is a Query raised with QNAP HQ that one of our techies sent suggesting there is a bug in latest Firmware update along with all the backup and error logs.

Baldbug
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 9:51 am

Re: Can't Connect to QNAP from PC

Post by Baldbug » Tue Oct 13, 2020 3:53 pm

Update is that Team Viewer is engaged and being used by QNAP techie organised by my local techie.

Looks like some "edited Shared Folder permissions to enable and a whole "Delete Me" file that I will leave for my techie to view tmw.

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 20542
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Can't Connect to QNAP from PC

Post by dolbyman » Tue Oct 13, 2020 8:01 pm

Next time, let one of your "techies" post.

No usable info in here:
NAS model?
Firmware version?
Windows Version used?

Baldbug
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 9:51 am

Re: Can't Connect to QNAP from PC

Post by Baldbug » Wed Oct 14, 2020 6:18 am

All happy here now, PC and Macs all have access to Qnap.

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 20542
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Can't Connect to QNAP from PC

Post by dolbyman » Wed Oct 14, 2020 6:20 am

*shrugs* .. no infos given even for a closing statement

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 9399
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: Can't Connect to QNAP from PC

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Wed Oct 14, 2020 7:27 am

Baldbug wrote:
Wed Oct 14, 2020 6:18 am
All happy here now, PC and Macs all have access to Qnap.
so what was the problem and how did you fix it? so others can learn from this? :'
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 +16gb ddr4 Crucial+ QWA-AC2600 wireless+QXP PCIE
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TL-D400S 2x 4TB WD Red Nas (WD40EFRX) single disks.
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228
[^] QNAP TS-128
[Mobile NAS] TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Win10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review
https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

Post Reply

Return to “Windows”