Can't figure this out!!!!!

Windows Access Rights Management
Post Reply
carlosuriostegui
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2020 12:13 pm

Can't figure this out!!!!!

Post by carlosuriostegui » Tue Oct 13, 2020 12:39 pm

Hello,
I just bought this QNAP NAS for video editing and storage.
TVS-672XT
8gb RAM, 6x 8TB Ironwolf Drives, I configured it as a static volume in Raid5.

I am connected via thunderbolt on my Windows laptop.
I am getting extremely slow speeds and even freezes at times. Whenever I copy a file from my computer to the shared folder on my NAS, it takes forever. I'm not sure if I am doing something wrong. I thought it would have like super-fast speeds.
I thought that I could use the drive like a regular hard drive plugged into my computer where I can drag and drop files into the folder, etc. But I haven't been able to do it at all.
Furthermore, I wanted to edit video from the NAS but whenever it's time to export, the computer freezes and I can't resolve the problem.

I do see the shared folders on my network and everything. I can launch the network drive with Qfinder Pro but whenever I drop a file, say a video file, into the folder it shows the progress bar but it just stays at 0% and doesn't move.
I'm literally so close to giving up. I just want this thing to work like it's supposed to...

I apologize because I am fairly new to this.

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 8136
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: Can't figure this out!!!!!

Post by OneCD » Tue Oct 13, 2020 1:38 pm

Hi and welcome to the forum.

Please don't post this more than once.

I've removed the duplicates. ;)

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 20548
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Can't figure this out!!!!!

Post by dolbyman » Tue Oct 13, 2020 2:06 pm

there is plenty of thunderbolt issue threads...did you try the forum search first?

apparently best advice is to go 10GbE and forget about thunderbolt

Bob Zelin
Been there, done that
Posts: 937
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:55 am
Location: Orlando, FL.
Contact:

Re: Can't figure this out!!!!!

Post by Bob Zelin » Wed Oct 14, 2020 12:00 am

hello Carlos -
I am a video editing expert with QNAP systems.
It's not easy setting up a fully optomized QNAP system, especially for your application. You have not stated what computer you have, what operating system you have or what 10G adapter you have for your computer.
As was just mentioned by Dolbyman - if you have a thunderbolt 3 Mac Pro, I strongly suggest that you get a QNAP QNA-T310G1T which is a thunderbolt 3 to 10G adapter, and plug a Cat 6 cable from this into Ethernet port 1 of your TVS-672XT which is the 10G port. Assign a static IP for both the computer 10G port and the QNAP 10G port.
With eight matching 7200 RPM drives (the Ironwolf 8TB are excellent) you should be getting wonderful speeds. I do this every day for video editors.

bobzelin@icloud.com
Bob Zelin / Rescue 1, Inc.
http://www.bobzelin.com

carlosuriostegui
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2020 12:13 pm

Re: Can't figure this out!!!!!

Post by carlosuriostegui » Thu Oct 15, 2020 3:36 am

Bob Zelin wrote:
Wed Oct 14, 2020 12:00 am
hello Carlos -
I am a video editing expert with QNAP systems.
It's not easy setting up a fully optomized QNAP system, especially for your application. You have not stated what computer you have, what operating system you have or what 10G adapter you have for your computer.
As was just mentioned by Dolbyman - if you have a thunderbolt 3 Mac Pro, I strongly suggest that you get a QNAP QNA-T310G1T which is a thunderbolt 3 to 10G adapter, and plug a Cat 6 cable from this into Ethernet port 1 of your TVS-672XT which is the 10G port. Assign a static IP for both the computer 10G port and the QNAP 10G port.
With eight matching 7200 RPM drives (the Ironwolf 8TB are excellent) you should be getting wonderful speeds. I do this every day for video editors.

bobzelin@icloud.com
I'm using:
MSI GS75 Stealth laptop with Thunderbolt 3
Windows 10 Home 2004 19041.572

The QNA-T310G1T arrived today and I plug it into my computer via the Thunderbolt port and then to the 10gbe ethernet port on the TVS-672XT and I am not getting any indication that it is registering on my computer nor the NAS. Obviously downloaded and installed the driver: AQC107
What do I need to do in order for my computer to recognize the connection?

carlosuriostegui
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2020 12:13 pm

Re: Can't figure this out!!!!!

Post by carlosuriostegui » Thu Oct 15, 2020 4:38 am

Adding to that,
It's odd that when I plug in directly to the NAS to my computer via Thunderbolt, it does recognize the connection.
But when I use the adapter, it doesn't do anything...

Bob Zelin
Been there, done that
Posts: 937
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:55 am
Location: Orlando, FL.
Contact:

Re: Can't figure this out!!!!!

Post by Bob Zelin » Thu Oct 15, 2020 10:05 pm

I thought you were on a Mac. The driver for the AQC-107 is build into the MacOS from 10.13.6 - 10.15.7. But you are on a Win 10 PC. If you went to the Marvell website and installed the driver, does it show up in Windows Computer Management under Device Manger> Network Adapters ? If it does, go to your Settings> Network and Internet> Change Adapter Options, and you can click on the QNAP and set up a static IP for it. Make the 10G port on the QNAP a static IP to be on the same subnet.

To be clear, the Marvell Driver is the 64 bit driver for Windows 10
Bob Zelin
Bob Zelin / Rescue 1, Inc.
http://www.bobzelin.com

carlosuriostegui
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2020 12:13 pm

Re: Can't figure this out!!!!!

Post by carlosuriostegui » Fri Oct 16, 2020 12:23 am

Bob Zelin wrote:
Thu Oct 15, 2020 10:05 pm
I thought you were on a Mac. The driver for the AQC-107 is build into the MacOS from 10.13.6 - 10.15.7. But you are on a Win 10 PC. If you went to the Marvell website and installed the driver, does it show up in Windows Computer Management under Device Manger> Network Adapters ? If it does, go to your Settings> Network and Internet> Change Adapter Options, and you can click on the QNAP and set up a static IP for it. Make the 10G port on the QNAP a static IP to be on the same subnet.

To be clear, the Marvell Driver is the 64 bit driver for Windows 10
Bob Zelin
Hey Bob,
I installed the Marvell 64-bit driver but I do not see it in the Device Manager under Network Adapters.

Bob Zelin
Been there, done that
Posts: 937
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:55 am
Location: Orlando, FL.
Contact:

Re: Can't figure this out!!!!!

Post by Bob Zelin » Fri Oct 16, 2020 5:04 am

bobzelin@icloud.com
I will log in to you for free to see what is going on.
Bob Zelin
Bob Zelin / Rescue 1, Inc.
http://www.bobzelin.com

carlosuriostegui
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2020 12:13 pm

Re: Can't figure this out!!!!!

Post by carlosuriostegui » Fri Oct 16, 2020 5:09 am

Bob Zelin wrote:
Fri Oct 16, 2020 5:04 am
bobzelin@icloud.com
I will log in to you for free to see what is going on.
Bob Zelin
Thank you so much Bob, I just sent you an email.

geoffpc
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2020 7:45 am

Re: Can't figure this out!!!!!

Post by geoffpc » Thu Nov 26, 2020 5:18 am

Did this get resolved?

Post Reply

Return to “Windows”