QNAP to discontinue vQTS

QNAP NAS solution for server virtualization and clustering/HA/FT
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19957
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

QNAP to discontinue vQTS

Post by dolbyman » Sat Aug 08, 2020 1:50 am

https://www.qnap.com/en/news/2020/qnap- ... t-for-vqts

Taipei, Taiwan, August 7, 2020 - QNAP® Systems, Inc. (QNAP) today announced that it is ending support for vQTS and the feature will be removed from Virtualization Station. vQTS virtual machines will not be creatable from Virtualization Station v3.4.6 onwards, but existing vQTS virtual machines will still be usable – only with no future updates or support from QNAP.

Users looking for alternatives to vQTS can utilize QuTScloud, which is a licensed software and available for installation from the Virtualization Station VM Marketplace.


To learn more about QuTScloud, visit https://www.qnap.com/go/solution/qutscloud-hypervisor/.



About QNAP Systems, Inc.

QNAP, named from Quality Network Appliance Provider, is devoted to providing comprehensive solutions from software development, hardware design to in-house manufacturing. Focusing on storage, networking and smart video innovations, we strive to build a technology ecosystem upon subscription-based software and diversified service channels. QNAP envisions NAS as being more than a simple storage and has created a cloud-based networking infrastructure for users to host and develop artificial intelligence analysis, edge computing and data integration on their QNAP solutions.

Media Contacts

marketing@qnap.com

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 7918
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: QNAP to discontinue vQTS

Post by OneCD » Sat Aug 08, 2020 3:45 am

Another support method closed to me. Oh well, it was fun while it lasted. :(

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

User avatar
Trexx
Ask me anything
Posts: 5287
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: QNAP to discontinue vQTS

Post by Trexx » Sun Aug 09, 2020 9:11 am

Wow... pandemic must be really having an impact on QNAP based on latest moves they have been making.
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.3.x
QTS (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
Data (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar
VMs (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
Ext. (HDD): TR-004 [Raid-5] 4 x 4TB HGST Ultastor
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060 6GB
UPS: CP AVR1350

Model:TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
Model:TS-228a FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

tpenno
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 4:24 am

Re: QNAP to discontinue vQTS

Post by tpenno » Tue Aug 11, 2020 4:44 am

Excuse me for jumping in here - I'm a real novice and have a very old TS-341 - old enough that is can't do virtualization. I was going to get a new QNAP and am unsure if this announcement (discontinuing vQTS) means I can't run a VM on a newer QNAP. Is that accurate? (Told you I was a novice).
Thanks in advance
tom

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 7918
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: QNAP to discontinue vQTS

Post by OneCD » Tue Aug 11, 2020 5:18 am

Hi Tom and welcome to the forum. :)

If your new NAS has a version of Virtualization Station earlier than 3.4.6 (or you can find and manually install one), you can still create and use vQTS sessions.

But, this doesn't affect virtual machines in-general. This announcement is only for a specific type of VM provided by QNAP. So, you'll still be able to create and install other OS inside virtual machine images. ;)

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19957
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: QNAP to discontinue vQTS

Post by dolbyman » Tue Aug 11, 2020 5:23 am

There is no TS-341

There are TS-451 or TS-351 or TS-431

tpenno
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 4:24 am

Re: QNAP to discontinue vQTS

Post by tpenno » Tue Aug 11, 2020 8:47 am

sorry TS-431

tpenno
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 4:24 am

Re: QNAP to discontinue vQTS

Post by tpenno » Tue Aug 11, 2020 8:51 am

OneCD wrote:
Tue Aug 11, 2020 5:18 am
Hi Tom and welcome to the forum. :)

If your new NAS has a version of Virtualization Station earlier than 3.4.6 (or you can find and manually install one), you can still create and use vQTS sessions.

But, this doesn't affect virtual machines in-general. This announcement is only for a specific type of VM provided by QNAP. So, you'll still be able to create and install other OS inside virtual machine images. ;)
sorry TS-431


Thanks much

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19957
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: QNAP to discontinue vQTS

Post by dolbyman » Tue Aug 11, 2020 11:04 am

that one does not support virtualization anyways..so no need to worry

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 7918
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: QNAP to discontinue vQTS

Post by OneCD » Tue Aug 11, 2020 11:10 am

No, but I think Tom is shopping for a new unit, and wants to make sure it can handle VMs. :)

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19957
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: QNAP to discontinue vQTS

Post by dolbyman » Tue Aug 11, 2020 11:10 am

gottcha

tpenno
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 4:24 am

Re: QNAP to discontinue vQTS

Post by tpenno » Tue Aug 11, 2020 7:01 pm

Thanks very much.

I'm looking at a TS-453D. Seems to get good reviews and it will handle VM's - correct?

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19957
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: QNAP to discontinue vQTS

Post by dolbyman » Tue Aug 11, 2020 8:36 pm

it does handle VMs ...just be aware of the speed limitations of a little celeron processor

tpenno
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 4:24 am

Re: QNAP to discontinue vQTS

Post by tpenno » Tue Aug 11, 2020 11:25 pm

Thanks - I was concerned about that. Any specific minimum processor level you;d suggest? This is just for home but I do like tinkering.
thx
tom

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19957
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: QNAP to discontinue vQTS

Post by dolbyman » Tue Aug 11, 2020 11:44 pm

depends on your VM requirements

I'd say .. whatever you would want out of a physical processor + 50% (for the type 2 hypervisor overhead)

A Celeron is fine for small linux machines or 'GUIless' windows stuff, if you want GUI and usable performance, an I5,7 or Ryzen is needed

Post Reply

Return to “Server Virtualization & Clustering”