Page 1 of 1

DNSoMatic Updater

Posted: Wed Sep 16, 2015 4:47 am
by realnas
Hi,
I have found different links on google to make automatic updates of IP to DNSoMatic (OpenDNS service) but I couldn't make it work.

Is there any package available or one can be made to make this easy? This will be great to secure home network.

Re: DNSoMatic Updater

Posted: Wed Sep 16, 2015 9:18 pm
by pwilson
realnas wrote:Hi,
I have found different links on google to make automatic updates of IP to DNSoMatic (OpenDNS service) but I couldn't make it work.

Is there any package available or one can be made to make this easy? This will be great to secure home network.


Can't you use one of the DDNS Services already supported by either your Router (preferred method) or your NAS?

Image

QNAP Turbo NAS User Manual 4.2 (SMB) wrote:DDNS Service

To allow remote access to the NAS using a domain name instead of a dynamic IP address, enable the DDNS service.

The NAS supports the DDNS providers: http://www.dyndns.com, http://update.ods.org, http://www.dhs.org, http://www.dyns.cx, http://www.3322.org, http://www.no-ip.com, http://www.Selfhost.de, http://www.oray.com.

Note: Some of these DDNS services are not free.

Additional Reference:

Re: DNSoMatic Updater

Posted: Wed Sep 16, 2015 10:29 pm
by realnas
Thank you Patrick for your reply.

I actually want to update my dynamic IP to opendns which isn't supported in router or by QNAP. Dns o magic service offers free update of IP to different dns service providers including opendns but even that I couldn't find supported.

Re: DNSoMatic Updater

Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2015 4:26 am
by pwilson
realnas wrote:Thank you Patrick for your reply.

I actually want to update my dynamic IP to opendns which isn't supported in router or by QNAP. Dns o magic service offers free update of IP to different dns service providers including opendns but even that I couldn't find supported.


If changing providers isn't an acceptable option for you, why not simply install and configure inadyn on your NAS? You can install it via QNAPware once you have that installed.

Code: Select all

admin@NASTY2:~# opkg list | grep inadyn
inadyn - 1.99.14-20150722-1 - Inadyn is a simple and small DDNS client written in the C language. It can maintain multiple host names with the same IP address, and has a web based IP detection which runs well behind a NAT router. This is a fork by Andrey Tikhomirov.
admin@NASTY2:~# opkg install inadyn
Installing inadyn (1.99.14-20150722-1) to root...
Downloading http://qnapware.zyxmon.org/binaries-x86/inadyn_1.99.14-20150722-1_qnapx86.ipk.
Configuring inadyn.
admin@NASTY2:~# opkg files inadyn
Package inadyn (1.99.14-20150722-1) is installed on root and has the following files:
/Apps/opt/etc/init.d/S52inadyn
/Apps/opt/bin/inadyn
/Apps/opt/etc/inadyn.conf

Re: DNSoMatic Updater

Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2015 5:31 am
by realnas
I have installed Qnapware but not sure how to install inadyn now. I logged into QNAP Nas with SSH and pasted above code you have mentioned in your post but it gives error.

Re: DNSoMatic Updater

Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2015 5:37 am
by pwilson
realnas wrote:I have installed Qnapware but not sure how to install inadyn now. I logged into QNAP Nas with SSH and pasted above code you have mentioned in your post but it gives error.


Try:

Code: Select all

opkg update ; opkg install inadyn

Re: DNSoMatic Updater

Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2015 5:41 am
by schumaku
realnas wrote: I logged into QNAP Nas with SSH
Create a _new_ session - otherwise the PATH is not set accordingly to find Qnapware.

realnas wrote:...and pasted above code you have mentioned in your post but it gives error.
Copy and paste fro your terminal ... "gives error" is meaningless.

Re: DNSoMatic Updater

Posted: Sat Jul 18, 2020 12:21 am
by jds580s
This is a very old thread, but it came up first when searching for QNAP and DNSoMatic so I though I would share an update that this is now possible without any CRON job or scripting.
QNAP support helped me to figure out why the native "Custom DDNS" wasn't working for DNSoMatic.

The URL field, apparently, automatically adds the username and password, so if you have the custom URL written like:
https://%USER%:%PASS%@updates.dnsomatic ... ckmx=NOCHG

it's actually going to get the username and password twice and fail. The correct URL should look like:
https://updates.dnsomatic.com/nic/updat ... ckmx=NOCHG