TVS-1282 QTS GPU Support

Tell us your most wanted features from QNAP products.
Post Reply
User avatar
Jase001
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 3:33 pm

TVS-1282 QTS GPU Support

Post by Jase001 » Mon Apr 13, 2020 5:32 pm

Qnap announced in July 2019 they were looking into adding QTS GPU support for the TVS x-82. Is there any update on this? I purchased a 1060 GPU for my TVS-1282, but it only works with container station and virtualisation station. I along with many others would love QNAP to release a firmware update that allowed the GPU in the TVS-x82 model to be utilised inside QTS. Maybe if enough people agreed QNAP would look into adding this feature in future firmware releases.
Jay

Model: TVS-1282 i5 16GB FW: 4.3.4.0516 Build: 20180315
Disks: [RAID-5] 4 x 4TB WD RED SSD Cache: [RAID-5] 2 x 500gb Samsung Evo 850
UPS: CyberPower CP1500EPFCLCD. Backup: TS-453A 8TB WD RED
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro (4K), AppleTV 4

Repet
Starting out
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed May 01, 2019 2:01 pm

Re: TVS-1282 QTS GPU Support

Post by Repet » Tue Jul 14, 2020 11:26 am

They just need to use second graphics interface in /dev eg some apps do find the card and are able to use it, but hit and miss
Now we have to use this ** internal intel gpu.

It is really simple implementation yet, bit stupid

User avatar
peelos
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 496
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 9:28 pm

Re: TVS-1282 QTS GPU Support

Post by peelos » Tue Jul 14, 2020 2:53 pm

Jase001 wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 5:32 pm
Qnap announced in July 2019 they were looking into adding QTS GPU support for the TVS x-82. Is there any update on this? I purchased a 1060 GPU for my TVS-1282, but it only works with container station and virtualisation station. I along with many others would love QNAP to release a firmware update that allowed the GPU in the TVS-x82 model to be utilised inside QTS. Maybe if enough people agreed QNAP would look into adding this feature in future firmware releases.
I have the 1060 GPU working in QTS with the TVS-1282 now - I reset the NAS recently and it became available to QTS following reinstall of Nvidia drivers - card is made available to Plex for hardware accelerated transcoding for example.
NAS: TVS-1282-i7K-40G / 4 x 500GB SSD 2.5" / 2 x 500GB M.2 SSD / 8 x 4TB WD Red 3.5" / Corsair H5-SF Watercooling / 3 x 80mm PWM Noctua fans / Corsair 600W PSU / Asus Turbo GTX 1060 6GB GPU
Software: Plex Media Server / QTransmission / Sonarr / Radarr / Jackett / QMono / Tautulli / OpenHAB / Resilio Sync / QPython / QJDK 8 / NetData / Qapache / SortMyQPKGs
pfSense Firewall / OpenVPN Server: QOTOM Fanless Mini PC / Core i5 / 8GB RAM / 128GB SSD / 4 Gigabit NICs / AES-NI
Wireless Routers: 2 x Netgear AC1900 R7000 Nighthawk / Advanced Tomato Firmware

User avatar
Jase001
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 3:33 pm

Re: TVS-1282 QTS GPU Support

Post by Jase001 » Tue Jul 14, 2020 2:59 pm

Got it working with QTS too, although it doesn't accurately show the usage stats on the hardware tab. I did raise a ticket with QNAP to ask why I could get no video output in HD Station when allocated to QTS. QNAP looked into this and advised that on the TVS-1282 the GPU could not output video and you were still forced to use the on board GPU output. I hope they release a further update to correct this.
Jay

Model: TVS-1282 i5 16GB FW: 4.3.4.0516 Build: 20180315
Disks: [RAID-5] 4 x 4TB WD RED SSD Cache: [RAID-5] 2 x 500gb Samsung Evo 850
UPS: CyberPower CP1500EPFCLCD. Backup: TS-453A 8TB WD RED
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro (4K), AppleTV 4

Repet
Starting out
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed May 01, 2019 2:01 pm

Re: TVS-1282 QTS GPU Support

Post by Repet » Tue Jul 14, 2020 9:29 pm

Which firmware are u using Peelos? so u got option to assign to QTS. looks like the Nvidia dev has been set to first graphics device. Can u check in /dev. are u still able to assign the iNTEL GPU to eg other graphics services?

User avatar
peelos
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 496
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 9:28 pm

Re: TVS-1282 QTS GPU Support

Post by peelos » Wed Jul 15, 2020 2:31 pm

Repet wrote:
Tue Jul 14, 2020 9:29 pm
Which firmware are u using Peelos? so u got option to assign to QTS. looks like the Nvidia dev has been set to first graphics device. Can u check in /dev. are u still able to assign the iNTEL GPU to eg other graphics services?
4.4.3.1354 - latest currently available.

in dev I see in this order:

Code: Select all

crw-rw-rw-  1 admin administrators 195,   0 2020-07-05 19:26 nvidia0
crw-rw-rw-  1 admin administrators 195, 255 2020-07-05 19:26 nvidiactl
If you meant something else with "can you check in /dev", let me know what to check..
NAS: TVS-1282-i7K-40G / 4 x 500GB SSD 2.5" / 2 x 500GB M.2 SSD / 8 x 4TB WD Red 3.5" / Corsair H5-SF Watercooling / 3 x 80mm PWM Noctua fans / Corsair 600W PSU / Asus Turbo GTX 1060 6GB GPU
Software: Plex Media Server / QTransmission / Sonarr / Radarr / Jackett / QMono / Tautulli / OpenHAB / Resilio Sync / QPython / QJDK 8 / NetData / Qapache / SortMyQPKGs
pfSense Firewall / OpenVPN Server: QOTOM Fanless Mini PC / Core i5 / 8GB RAM / 128GB SSD / 4 Gigabit NICs / AES-NI
Wireless Routers: 2 x Netgear AC1900 R7000 Nighthawk / Advanced Tomato Firmware

Post Reply

Return to “Features Wanted”