[SOLVED] AFP wont work ;(((

Questions about using NAS on Mac OS.
MarB
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:34 am

[SOLVED] AFP wont work ;(((

Post by MarB » Tue May 07, 2013 2:04 am

hi

559_Pro II, all my systems are up to date (NAS, MACs)

suddenly every time i try to log on, all my mac's won't be able to do so.

on the NAS system log it says... 19:23:00; Guest; login o.k., but on the mac nothing!

i tried:
-restart nas
-restart APF on nas
-restart Bonjour on nas

-all other services are working, if i use smb from my mac it works!

GUYS, u always has problem with APF but this!!!! i dont want to read 100k pages (i already lost 5h)

regards.

edit: TimeMachine is working!
edit2: it is very very very very very very very slow.(unusable)

Solution:

Delete all Files/directories named: (using "search" on Web file Manager, just Type "Apple")
.AppleDB
.AppleDesktop
.AppleDouble

On all shares

Restarted Afp, and it Works again.....
Last edited by MarB on Fri May 10, 2013 1:25 am, edited 5 times in total.

xavierh
Experience counts
Posts: 1099
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 6:15 am
Location: Denton, Texas

Re: AFP wont work ;(((

Post by xavierh » Tue May 07, 2013 2:13 am

This is very strange indeed


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

QNAP TVS-951x QTS 4.5.1.1480 build 20201108 OS Storage Pool: Samsung 860 EVO 250GB SSD x 4 (RAID 5), Data Storage Pool: WD WD30EFRX (Red) 3TB x 4 (RAID 5), 16GB RAM WD Easystore 10TB External USB 3.0 Services: SMB, Appletalk, QPKG: Container Station, HBS 3
QNAP TS-453A QTS 4.5.1.1480 build 20201108 Services: SMB, HBS 3
Network: UDM, UDM Beacon, Unifi 8 Port Switch x 3, Flex Mini Switch

itlnparrot
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 8:28 am

Re: AFP wont work ;(((

Post by itlnparrot » Tue May 07, 2013 8:30 am

This just happened to me as well, 3-4 days ago. I've rebooted, turned on and off all services. Weeks since I've updated software on QNAP or mac (all up to date). SMB is working -- AFP, NOT. This is true for multiple devices and user names.

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43664
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: AFP wont work ;(((

Post by schumaku » Tue May 07, 2013 2:57 pm

itlnparrot wrote:This just happened to me as well, 3-4 days ago. I've rebooted, turned on and off all services. Weeks since I've updated software on QNAP or mac (all up to date). SMB is working -- AFP, NOT. This is true for multiple devices and user names.
Please open a dedicated new post - in your other thread reply you mentioned
itlnparrot wrote:Just last week I was getting errors of FTP, AFP and apache services being relaunched: "upnpd", "apache", "proftpd", and afpd"
So it's kind of obvious thee is a major issue with your NAS.

The most common issues on these NAS are: Incomplete update and firmware intallation, broken or wild running QPKG and similar third party applications, flooded root or temp file systems. Any indications in the NAS system log? Tell us more about QPKG installed, versions, ...

When making use of AFP - the first thing to do is update to 3.8.3 - preferably using the manual process.

Please do the manual update (firmware re-install) from the Linux shell - this is most safe for your NAS - and the only one allowing to copy-pater the transcript of the update process to the forum here in case, so we can see what might have failed.

Let's hope SSL is enabled (it's by default), or you can still reach this part in Network Services -> Telnet/SSH.

Copy the firmware image (not the .zip, the extracted .img file) i.e. to the Public share.

Login on the NAS by SSH from your computer (Windows: PuTTY http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/ or OS X Terminal app: $ ssh admin@[NAS-IP-address]) using the admin credentials. Then you can enter the commands (the [~] shows just the current directory, the # is the prompt.

The update process shown here http://wiki.qnap.com/wiki/Manually_Updating_Firmware - just the 1-2-3 should be enough

This is the only verbose update, permitting the community members to help in case something goes mad - impossible to _guess_ what went wrong, and what is going wrong on your NAS...

===

Regards,
-Kurt.

MarB
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:34 am

Re: AFP wont work ;(((

Post by MarB » Wed May 08, 2013 12:54 am

everything is UP-TO-DATE

- the only qpkg is plex (and it is up-to-date)

- all standard applications turned off

- Only Web-File-Manager turned on

- System logs looks normal. (as if it would work)

- Automount on OS X start up, will work (slow)

- TimeMachine is WORKING (at normal speed)

itlnparrot
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 8:28 am

Re: AFP wont work ;(((

Post by itlnparrot » Wed May 08, 2013 11:39 am

Hey Kurt. Thanks for pointers. Upgrade was successful.

Sadly. AFP still not connecting. I actually didn't have any other problems with those services except for the 1 time relaunch strangeness.

This is frustrating.

itlnparrot
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 8:28 am

Re: AFP wont work ;(((

Post by itlnparrot » Wed May 08, 2013 11:44 am

oh. and TimeMachine works. Very odd.

(i've also run the Disk Utility on 2 of the OS X machines. Check/Verify Permissions.

Will say that SMB is speedier...

User avatar
pwilson
Guru
Posts: 22568
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada (UTC-08:00)

Re: AFP wont work ;(((

Post by pwilson » Wed May 08, 2013 11:48 am

MarB wrote:everything is UP-TO-DATE


Prove it. Provide actual version numbers. I'm not willing to work with "everything is UP-TO-DATE" as it is seldom true. You may "believe" everything is up to date, but unless you actually provide the version numbers, we won't know that. Don't waste our time.

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.2.0 Build 20151023 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit)
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - View My Location - Top Community Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.

xavierh
Experience counts
Posts: 1099
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 6:15 am
Location: Denton, Texas

Re: AFP wont work ;(((

Post by xavierh » Wed May 08, 2013 10:32 pm

specially when for other who have upgraded their nas devices to the latest firmware (3.8.3) access to shares via AFP and timemachine is working fine

QNAP TVS-951x QTS 4.5.1.1480 build 20201108 OS Storage Pool: Samsung 860 EVO 250GB SSD x 4 (RAID 5), Data Storage Pool: WD WD30EFRX (Red) 3TB x 4 (RAID 5), 16GB RAM WD Easystore 10TB External USB 3.0 Services: SMB, Appletalk, QPKG: Container Station, HBS 3
QNAP TS-453A QTS 4.5.1.1480 build 20201108 Services: SMB, HBS 3
Network: UDM, UDM Beacon, Unifi 8 Port Switch x 3, Flex Mini Switch

MarB
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:34 am

Re: AFP wont work ;(((

Post by MarB » Wed May 08, 2013 11:24 pm

hi

my system is running:

559 Pro II Pro 3.8.3 Build 20130426 (could not find xxx28)
PlexMediaServer 0.9.7.22.5 (working, seems not to use AFP)
4x OS X 10.8.3 Bulid 12D78

as mentioned only other services used are anti virus an web-file-manager.

the NAS System LOG looks "normal", it even accepts my password, but after that no discovery of shares on my mac....

And yes TimeMachine is WORKING!

regards

itlnparrot
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 8:28 am

Re: AFP wont work ;(((

Post by itlnparrot » Thu May 09, 2013 10:44 am

I have a TS 412 running: 3.8.3 Build 20130426 (manually updated last night after several reboots to get working)

I have a 2009 Mac Mini (10.8.3) and a iMac 2008 (10.8.3) running on AirPort Extreme also on the network, it's OS version is: 7.6.3

The one thing I am vigilant on is keeping my network up dated. Typically with QNAP staying a release behind. (though, I have not experienced problems with their OS until now)
Clearly my posts could be more detailed. Apologies.

Appreciate the help.

*Edit: TimeMachine working. AFP not.


System Service
Antivirus
Enabled
Apple Networking
Enabled
Apple Zone name *
DDNS Service
Enabled
Disk Management
Enable iSCSI target service
Port 3260
Download Station
Enabled
FTP Service
Enabled
Port 21
Maximum connections 30
LDAP Server
Enabled
Microsoft Networking
Enabled
Server type Standalone server
Workgroup *********
Enable WINS server
Enable local master browser
Multimedia Station
Enable Multimedia Station
Enable iTunes Server
Enable DLNA Media Server
Music Station
Enabled
MySQL Server
Enabled
Enable TCP/IP networking
Photo Station
enabled

MarB
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:34 am

Re: AFP wont work ;(((

Post by MarB » Fri May 10, 2013 1:16 am

After I deleted all Files/directories named:

.AppleDB
.AppleDesktop
.AppleDouble

On all shares, more than 5k

Restarted Afp, and it Works again.....

itlnparrot
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 8:28 am

Re: [SOLVED] AFP wont work ;(((

Post by itlnparrot » Fri May 10, 2013 8:40 am

I turned off all the services/systems above after my system crashed again. (QNAP support suggested that I was pulling system down with so much enabled) -- Never used any of the above, except for giggles once or twice.

Anyway - Still having problems with AFP.

MarB - I tried to locate those files, via SSH (Cyberduck in) and through Finder & Web File Manager. No luck.

On the plus side, my NAS is quite a bit zippier...

itlnparrot
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 8:28 am

Re: [SOLVED] AFP wont work ;(((

Post by itlnparrot » Fri May 10, 2013 8:48 am

Check that. Found them.

EDIT: It WORKED! Excellent. Thanks!

jdelaney78
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 4:49 am

Re: AFP wont work ;(((

Post by jdelaney78 » Sat Aug 17, 2013 6:38 am

pwilson wrote:
MarB wrote:everything is UP-TO-DATE


Prove it. Provide actual version numbers. I'm not willing to work with "everything is UP-TO-DATE" as it is seldom true. You may "believe" everything is up to date, but unless you actually provide the version numbers, we won't know that. Don't waste our time.


There's no need to be rude. It's clear you are trying to help though you are very short with people and superior with people on a lot of topics; give them a break? Just my opinion.

Post Reply

Return to “Mac OS”