[ Home Assistant ] [ 0.109.6 ] Open-source home automation platform

This is the best place for community developers to publish their genius work. Your Apps enrich the QNAP Turbo NAS.
User avatar
oyvindo
Experience counts
Posts: 1153
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Norway, Oslo

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.36.1 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by oyvindo » Thu May 31, 2018 11:47 pm

You use any text editor of your choice to edit the configuration file - except Notepad. Personally I prefer to connect to the NAS using WinSCP and I edit the files using the editor built into WinSCP.
ImageImageImageImage

User avatar
Skeptical.me
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 405
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 8:58 am
Location: Australia

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.36.1 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by Skeptical.me » Fri Jun 01, 2018 6:41 am

oyvindo wrote:You use any text editor of your choice to edit the configuration file - except Notepad. Personally I prefer to connect to the NAS using WinSCP and I edit the files using the editor built into WinSCP.



ahh, of course, editors. I have forgotten so much since I haven't been using command line for about 6 months, I think.
QNAP TS-253Be 2 x WD Red 6TB RAID1, & 1 x WD Ext. 6TB, QTS: 4.4.1

QVPN, Plex, Radar, Sonarr, Lidarr, NZBGet, NZBHydra 2


ASUS RT-AX88U ASUSWRT-Merlin, Apple iMac 27" 5K 32GB 500GB SSD i5 3.5Ghz. Dell WIN 10 Laptop

User avatar
Skeptical.me
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 405
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 8:58 am
Location: Australia

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.36.1 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by Skeptical.me » Mon Oct 29, 2018 8:23 pm

oyvindo wrote:You use any text editor of your choice to edit the configuration file - except Notepad. Personally I prefer to connect to the NAS using WinSCP and I edit the files using the editor built into WinSCP.


Hi,

I decided to install HA in CS. I have some question, there may be a few. Still learning. I have all of my Philips Hue Lights setup in HA, that was simple. I don't expect an answer for all of these, I'm more just looking to be pointed in the right direction.

1. Is it safe to keep passwords in HA configuration.yaml file? I noticed on some posts on Reddit passwords are required for some devices.
2. I want to setup Plex
3. Apple TV
4. HomeKit integration (Edit: I figured it out)
5. ONVIF IP Cams
6. IFTTT
7. I have never setup external access to something on my TS-253Be, I'm just wondering if anyone knows of a guide to install a (I assume) LetsEncrypt Cert, and how to setup up the DDNS with a Domain name. And I understand I'd have to forward certain ports in my ASUS RT-AC86U.
(Edit) 8. I just read about Hass.IO and I'm wondering if its possible to add it to HA in CS? Appears to be a simple way of getting somethings installed.

I understand that's a lot to ask. Thank you for any assistance. :D
QNAP TS-253Be 2 x WD Red 6TB RAID1, & 1 x WD Ext. 6TB, QTS: 4.4.1

QVPN, Plex, Radar, Sonarr, Lidarr, NZBGet, NZBHydra 2


ASUS RT-AX88U ASUSWRT-Merlin, Apple iMac 27" 5K 32GB 500GB SSD i5 3.5Ghz. Dell WIN 10 Laptop

xiaoyuewenwu
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2018 1:04 pm

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.36.1 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by xiaoyuewenwu » Wed Nov 06, 2019 10:09 am

Hi. I am so happy to find out this HA opkg.

Is it a version higher than 0.36.1 ?

User avatar
QNAP_Stephane
Experience counts
Posts: 3867
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 1:00 am

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.36.1 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by QNAP_Stephane » Fri Nov 08, 2019 6:48 pm

if i remember it is auto updating internally
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
QnapClub AppCenter - https://www.qnapclub.eu
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

xiaoyuewenwu
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2018 1:04 pm

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.36.1 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by xiaoyuewenwu » Tue Nov 12, 2019 11:05 am

My HA is still in version 0.37.0 DEV.

Could your tell me how to upgrade? Thanks!

User avatar
moody_blue
Know my way around
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 9:23 am

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.36.1 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by moody_blue » Sun Jan 05, 2020 4:56 pm

QNAP_Stephane wrote:
Fri Nov 08, 2019 6:48 pm
if i remember it is auto updating internally
Python 3.6.0 support is deprecated and will be removed in the first release after October 2. Is it possible to update this package ?
QNAP TS-253A 4G QTS 4.4.3.1354
Plex Media Server 1.19.4.2935
OpenHAB 2.5.6
Unifi 5.13.29
GLPI 9.4.6

User avatar
QNAP_Stephane
Experience counts
Posts: 3867
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 1:00 am

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.36.1 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by QNAP_Stephane » Mon Jan 06, 2020 9:06 pm

on todo list
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
QnapClub AppCenter - https://www.qnapclub.eu
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
moody_blue
Know my way around
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 9:23 am

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.36.1 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by moody_blue » Mon Jan 06, 2020 9:12 pm

Thanks
QNAP TS-253A 4G QTS 4.4.3.1354
Plex Media Server 1.19.4.2935
OpenHAB 2.5.6
Unifi 5.13.29
GLPI 9.4.6

User avatar
QNAP_Stephane
Experience counts
Posts: 3867
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 1:00 am

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.103.6 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by QNAP_Stephane » Fri Jan 10, 2020 1:12 am

updated x64 version

may not support upgrade

completly new cross compilation with all libs up to date and python 3.8.1 embedded
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
QnapClub AppCenter - https://www.qnapclub.eu
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
oyvindo
Experience counts
Posts: 1153
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Norway, Oslo

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.36.1 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by oyvindo » Fri Jan 10, 2020 3:48 am

[quote=Skeptical.me

1. Is it safe to keep passwords in HA configuration.yaml file? I noticed on some posts on Reddit passwords are required for some devices.
2. I want to setup Plex
3. Apple TV
4. HomeKit integration (Edit: I figured it out)
5. ONVIF IP Cams
6. IFTTT
7. I have never setup external access to something on my TS-253Be, I'm just wondering if anyone knows of a guide to install a (I assume) LetsEncrypt Cert, and how to setup up the DDNS with a Domain name. And I understand I'd have to forward certain ports in my ASUS RT-AC86U.
(Edit) 8. I just read about Hass.IO and I'm wondering if its possible to add it to HA in CS? Appears to be a simple way of getting somethings installed.

[/quote]

1. Yes and no, it depends. If your network (HA or anything else) is accessible using only port forwarding, then it is not safe. But if your network is closed, it shouldn't be a problem
2. Plex? in HA ? Why?
3. HA will autodetect Apple TV
4.
5. Don't know.
6. HA is much more flexible than IFTTT
7. If you want external access, use VPN.
8. Hass is just a packaged version of HA. It is not something you put inside HA. You use either or.
ImageImageImageImage

User avatar
Skeptical.me
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 405
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 8:58 am
Location: Australia

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.36.1 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by Skeptical.me » Sat Jan 11, 2020 3:03 pm

oyvindo wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 3:48 am
1. Yes and no, it depends. If your network (HA or anything else) is accessible using only port forwarding, then it is not safe. But if your network is closed, it shouldn't be a problem
2. Plex? in HA ? Why?
3. HA will autodetect Apple TV
4.
5. Don't know.
6. HA is much more flexible than IFTTT
7. If you want external access, use VPN.
8. Hass is just a packaged version of HA. It is not something you put inside HA. You use either or.
Hey, thanks for the reply.

I can't remember why I wrote Plex, maybe I thought I could use Plex with HA, don't remember.

Yeah, my network is closed, and I see Stephane has updated the pkg so I'll try it again.

Thanks again.
QNAP TS-253Be 2 x WD Red 6TB RAID1, & 1 x WD Ext. 6TB, QTS: 4.4.1

QVPN, Plex, Radar, Sonarr, Lidarr, NZBGet, NZBHydra 2


ASUS RT-AX88U ASUSWRT-Merlin, Apple iMac 27" 5K 32GB 500GB SSD i5 3.5Ghz. Dell WIN 10 Laptop

User avatar
oyvindo
Experience counts
Posts: 1153
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Norway, Oslo

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.36.1 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by oyvindo » Sat Jan 11, 2020 4:19 pm

Skeptical.me wrote:
Sat Jan 11, 2020 3:03 pm
Yeah, my network is closed, and I see Stephane has updated the pkg so I'll try it again.
Why don't you choose a docker installation instead?
In my opinion it's a much better setup where you rely directly on the work in the open source group.
No negatives about Stephane and his work, but after all he is a 'one-man-band' who does a lot of work, but I have never been able to get his attention.
I installed several packages originally created by him, and now I can no longer update because the packages are not being maintained.

Don't get me wrong here - I don't blame him (He has a ** of a lot going on, maybe too much). :shock:
ImageImageImageImage

User avatar
Skeptical.me
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 405
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 8:58 am
Location: Australia

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.36.1 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by Skeptical.me » Sat Jan 11, 2020 4:58 pm

oyvindo wrote:
Sat Jan 11, 2020 4:19 pm
Skeptical.me wrote:
Sat Jan 11, 2020 3:03 pm
Yeah, my network is closed, and I see Stephane has updated the pkg so I'll try it again.
Why don't you choose a docker installation instead?
In my opinion it's a much better setup where you rely directly on the work in the open source group.
No negatives about Stephane and his work, but after all he is a 'one-man-band' who does a lot of work, but I have never been able to get his attention.
I installed several packages originally created by him, and now I can no longer update because the packages are not being maintained.

Don't get me wrong here - I don't blame him (He has a ** of a lot going on, maybe too much). :shock:
Okay, mate. I'll give it a go and see how it works out. I'll just come back here and ask you questions if needed? (or is there a thread for the docker version?).
QNAP TS-253Be 2 x WD Red 6TB RAID1, & 1 x WD Ext. 6TB, QTS: 4.4.1

QVPN, Plex, Radar, Sonarr, Lidarr, NZBGet, NZBHydra 2


ASUS RT-AX88U ASUSWRT-Merlin, Apple iMac 27" 5K 32GB 500GB SSD i5 3.5Ghz. Dell WIN 10 Laptop

User avatar
QNAP_Stephane
Experience counts
Posts: 3867
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 1:00 am

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.103.6 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by QNAP_Stephane » Thu Jan 16, 2020 1:35 am

arm64 + arm-x41 added
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
QnapClub AppCenter - https://www.qnapclub.eu
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Post Reply

Return to “Community Apps”