[ Home Assistant ] [ 0.109.6 ] Open-source home automation platform

This is the best place for community developers to publish their genius work. Your Apps enrich the QNAP Turbo NAS.
User avatar
moody_blue
Know my way around
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 9:23 am

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.103.6 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by moody_blue » Sat Jan 18, 2020 4:43 pm

QNAP_Stephane wrote:
Fri Jan 10, 2020 1:12 am
updated x64 version

may not support upgrade
Mine upgrades whenever I go through a stop/start cycle.
QNAP TS-253A 4G QTS 4.4.3.1354
Plex Media Server 1.19.4.2935
OpenHAB 2.5.6
Unifi 5.13.29
GLPI 9.4.6

User avatar
moody_blue
Know my way around
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 9:23 am

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.36.1 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by moody_blue » Sat Jan 18, 2020 4:49 pm

oyvindo wrote:
Sat Jan 11, 2020 4:19 pm
Why don't you choose a docker installation instead?
In my opinion it's a much better setup where you rely directly on the work in the open source group.
I had a very bad experience with container station, and had to reinstall QTS from scratch several times because of it. So I've got rid of CS and prefer to rely on Stephane's qpkg's. If/when he decides to stop updating them I will consider alternatives, being CS one of them.
QNAP TS-253A 4G QTS 4.4.3.1354
Plex Media Server 1.19.4.2935
OpenHAB 2.5.6
Unifi 5.13.29
GLPI 9.4.6

User avatar
moody_blue
Know my way around
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 9:23 am

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.103.6 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by moody_blue » Fri Apr 17, 2020 3:01 am

Is it possible to upgrade HA to 0.108.5 ? Upgrade from 0.106.3 is fails due to ciso8601 not updating.
QNAP TS-253A 4G QTS 4.4.3.1354
Plex Media Server 1.19.4.2935
OpenHAB 2.5.6
Unifi 5.13.29
GLPI 9.4.6

vervlogen
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 3:38 am

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.103.6 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by vervlogen » Sun May 17, 2020 3:38 am

moody_blue wrote:
Fri Apr 17, 2020 3:01 am
Is it possible to upgrade HA to 0.108.5 ? Upgrade from 0.106.3 is fails due to ciso8601 not updating.
Same here, trying to update to latest version, fails on ciso8601. Would love an update to the latest version.

User avatar
oyvindo
Experience counts
Posts: 1153
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Norway, Oslo

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.103.6 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by oyvindo » Sun May 17, 2020 4:21 pm

I have absolutely no problems updating HA in Docker. I'm now on 0.109.6
ImageImageImageImage

User avatar
QNAP_Stephane
Experience counts
Posts: 3867
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 1:00 am

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.109.6 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by QNAP_Stephane » Mon May 18, 2020 1:06 am

x86_64 version updated others will follow
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
QnapClub AppCenter - https://www.qnapclub.eu
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
moody_blue
Know my way around
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 9:23 am

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.109.6 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by moody_blue » Mon May 18, 2020 6:04 am

Thanks
QNAP TS-253A 4G QTS 4.4.3.1354
Plex Media Server 1.19.4.2935
OpenHAB 2.5.6
Unifi 5.13.29
GLPI 9.4.6

vervlogen
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2016 3:38 am

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.109.6 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by vervlogen » Sun May 24, 2020 4:02 am

Great stuff. Installing...

farao777
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 1:52 pm

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.109.6 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by farao777 » Wed Jun 03, 2020 7:32 pm

Hi,
First I am total newbie so don't be cruel.
I managed to install the package after trying with container station-HA and it seems i cannot have access to add-ons. How can i get that on my qnap ts-251A ?
ha.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Trexx
Ask me anything
Posts: 5304
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.109.6 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by Trexx » Wed Jun 03, 2020 8:28 pm

Add-ons are only supported in the “HASSOS” version. The only way to install that on QNAP is to use the “VM image” of the application and install in VS.

You may not be real happy with the performance of a VM on your TS-251A.

Better option for you would be to get something like a Rpi 4b (2-4GB) and with a decent SD card and run Hassio that way. I did that for quite a while before moving to the VM option.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.3.x
QTS (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
Data (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar
VMs (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
Ext. (HDD): TR-004 [Raid-5] 4 x 4TB HGST Ultastor
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060 6GB
UPS: CP AVR1350

Model:TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
Model:TS-228a FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

farao777
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 1:52 pm

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.109.6 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by farao777 » Wed Jun 03, 2020 9:07 pm

Thank you for your quick reply.
Even if i have 4Gb version on QNAP and not doing much on it (backups and torrents) will be moving slo that VM ?

User avatar
Trexx
Ask me anything
Posts: 5304
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.109.6 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by Trexx » Thu Jun 04, 2020 10:41 am

farao777 wrote:
Wed Jun 03, 2020 9:07 pm
Thank you for your quick reply.
Even if i have 4Gb version on QNAP and not doing much on it (backups and torrents) will be moving slo that VM ?
It is hard to find much in terms of benchmarks that apply to both, so the only one I could quickly find was the Octane benchmark. Both the Intel N3060 (TS-251a cpu) and RPi 4b scored around 8800 on Octane. But you also have to remember that for the RPi 4b,100% of the CPU/etc. will be going to running HA. In your TS-251a, you have some of your CPU/Memory going to the NAS functions itself, as well as a % of overhead for VS itself. So just those 2 factors alone will reduce your performance from a CPU/Memory point of view.

From a storage perspective, you can get better durability and throughput on the NAS, but there are more and more options starting to come out for using say USB 3.x SSD's on the Rpi 4b. So that gap is getting closed. Other option is to offload most logging/data to the NAS via using things like mysql/mariadb/influxdb, etc. via container station and then pointing your HA config to leverage those.

Setup automated Google configuration backup, and even if your SD card goes on the Rpi4b, your historical data is on your nas then, and your config is up in google for download/restore back onto a new card.

If you had a beefier QNAP I would probably say use the QNAP, but on an entry level one, I would probably go with 4b. Other drawback of QNAP, when you reboot the NAS (Fw update, etc.) HA goes offline since VS is down.
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.3.x
QTS (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
Data (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar
VMs (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
Ext. (HDD): TR-004 [Raid-5] 4 x 4TB HGST Ultastor
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060 6GB
UPS: CP AVR1350

Model:TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
Model:TS-228a FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

farao777
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 1:52 pm

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.109.6 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by farao777 » Thu Jun 04, 2020 10:49 pm

Thank you. Probably getting an Rpi3 in weekend to see how is done.
Untill then I have an error with a fresh install of home assistant when i try to connect with my smartphone. Nothing installed/modified. Just container station and home assistant installed.


2020-06-04 14:43:34 ERROR (MainThread) [aiohttp.server] Error handling request
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/aiohttp/web_protocol.py", line 231, in data_received
messages, upgraded, tail = self._request_parser.feed_data(data)
File "aiohttp/_http_parser.pyx", line 295, in aiohttp._http_parser.HttpParser.feed_data
aiohttp.http_exceptions.BadStatusLine: invalid HTTP method

User avatar
Trexx
Ask me anything
Posts: 5304
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.109.6 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by Trexx » Fri Jun 05, 2020 2:30 am

Best bet is to search for solutions in the home assistant community forums.
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.3.x
QTS (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
Data (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar
VMs (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
Ext. (HDD): TR-004 [Raid-5] 4 x 4TB HGST Ultastor
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060 6GB
UPS: CP AVR1350

Model:TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
Model:TS-228a FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

bullgod
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2020 1:16 am

Re: [ Home Assistant ] [ 0.109.6 ] Open-source home automation platform

Post by bullgod » Fri Oct 23, 2020 1:54 am

Trexx wrote:
Wed Jun 03, 2020 8:28 pm
Add-ons are only supported in the “HASSOS” version. The only way to install that on QNAP is to use the “VM image” of the application and install in VS.

You may not be real happy with the performance of a VM on your TS-251A.

Better option for you would be to get something like a Rpi 4b (2-4GB) and with a decent SD card and run Hassio that way. I did that for quite a while before moving to the VM option.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Trexx, what do you think about this script?
https://community.home-assistant.io/t/m ... 102?u=mort

Post Reply

Return to “Community Apps”