Unfortunate installation - how to remove IT Mgmt Station

IT Management Station powered by Mandriva Pulse is designed to simplify daily tasks and IT asset management for businesses of all sizes. Administrators can benefit from the IT Management Station to centralize their management of multi-OS and multi-site IT assets.
Post Reply
HMVindahl
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 4:30 pm

Unfortunate installation - how to remove IT Mgmt Station

Post by HMVindahl » Sat Jun 14, 2014 8:12 pm

I currently running IT Management Station on two QNAPs TS-269 PRO and TS-469 PRO.

Since I have found that the use of the package is somewhat more complicated than I had expected from the guides I have read I would now like to remove the software from my QNAPs.

Unfortunately I have been unable to find any descriptions on how to remove the installation and all folders created by the IT management station.

All help will be appreciated!

Henrik

User avatar
pwilson
Guru
Posts: 22568
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada (UTC-08:00)

Re: Unfortunate installation - how to remove IT Mgmt Station

Post by pwilson » Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:42 am

HMVindahl wrote:I currently running IT Management Station on two QNAPs TS-269 PRO and TS-469 PRO.

Since I have found that the use of the package is somewhat more complicated than I had expected from the guides I have read I would now like to remove the software from my QNAPs.

Unfortunately I have been unable to find any descriptions on how to remove the installation and all folders created by the IT management station.

All help will be appreciated!

Henrik


Find it in the App Center, and click the "Remove" button.

Image

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.2.0 Build 20151023 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit)
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - View My Location - Top Community Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.

HMVindahl
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 4:30 pm

Re: Unfortunate installation - how to remove IT Mgmt Station

Post by HMVindahl » Sun Jun 15, 2014 2:04 am

Thx Patrick,

I already tried to "disable" the app and then remove it, but all folders remain.

I had to remove them all manually.

Thx again for your prompt reply.

Cheers,

Henrik

User avatar
pwilson
Guru
Posts: 22568
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada (UTC-08:00)

Re: Unfortunate installation - how to remove IT Mgmt Station

Post by pwilson » Sun Jun 15, 2014 2:50 am

HMVindahl wrote:Thx Patrick,

I already tried to "disable" the app and then remove it, but all folders remain.

I had to remove them all manually.

Thx again for your prompt reply.

Cheers,

Henrik


Can't help with so little information provided. :roll: :roll: :roll:

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.2.0 Build 20151023 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit)
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - View My Location - Top Community Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.

Carpe_Diem_Rj
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 10:30 pm

Re: Unfortunate installation - how to remove IT Mgmt Station

Post by Carpe_Diem_Rj » Mon Jul 07, 2014 6:53 pm

Hello i would like to know if i can install it mgmt station on my 509 pro qnap? When it will be available for this qnap?

User avatar
AnatomicJC
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 6:18 am

Re: Unfortunate installation - how to remove IT Mgmt Station

Post by AnatomicJC » Tue Jul 08, 2014 4:42 am

Hi, you have to upgrade your qnap firmware to 4.1 version : http://www.qnap.com/i/en/product_x_down ... .php?II=54
Hi, I'm one of Mandriva Pulse developers. Maybe I can help you with QNAP IT Management Station :-)

xtv
Know my way around
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 6:21 pm

Re: Unfortunate installation - how to remove IT Mgmt Station

Post by xtv » Tue Jul 08, 2014 5:56 pm

Hello,
I've been trying the package too, and I incurred in the same issue during uninstall (didn't even run it once as it requires the DHPC on the has to be active, which really does not match with my network design, thus I decided to remove it and move on).

For the records:

Basically, uninstall from the QNAP web-admin did complete.
However about 90MB of data remained in the NAS under /share/MD0_DATA/pulse2 after that plus a number of shares (including: "computers", "imaging", "isos", "masters", "packages", "postinst" and "pulse") created by the installation script.

Side note: after the uninstall process, I wasn't able to login to the NAS via ssh with an error like:

Code: Select all

$ ssh admin@qnap.intranet
PTY allocation request failed on channel 0
Connection to qnap.intranet closed by remote host.
Connection to qnap.intranet closed.
$


I imagine this is probably due to installation/uninstallation scripts logging in /var or somewhere directly in "/", which it should be something to avoid in Qnap as "/" is very small partition!! (typically with some 16MB free after boot)
Anyway, this issue is easily solved with a reboot (which restores the "/" partition from scratch).

After that I had to manually remove the remaining shares and data.


Question:
Anyone knows if there is there any other leftover data I should take care to remove in order to move back to the pre-install state?


Thanks,
S.

User avatar
doktornotor
Ask me anything
Posts: 7519
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 5:44 am

Re: Unfortunate installation - how to remove IT Mgmt Station

Post by doktornotor » Tue Jul 08, 2014 5:58 pm

xtv wrote:Question:
Anyone knows if there is there any other leftover data I should take care to remove in order to move back to the pre-install state?


:arrow: http://helpdesk.qnap.com/index.php?/Tickets/Submit
I'm gone from this forum till QNAP stop wasting volunteers' time. Get help from QNAP helpdesk instead.
Warning: offensive signature and materials damaging QNAP reputation follow:
QNAP's FW security issues
QNAP's hardware compatibility list madness
QNAP's new logo competition
Dear QNAP, kindly fire your clueless incompetent forum "admin" And while at it, don't forget the webmaster!

xtv
Know my way around
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 6:21 pm

Re: Unfortunate installation - how to remove IT Mgmt Station

Post by xtv » Tue Jul 08, 2014 6:03 pm

doktornotor wrote:
xtv wrote:Question:
Anyone knows if there is there any other leftover data I should take care to remove in order to move back to the pre-install state?


:arrow: http://helpdesk.qnap.com/index.php?/Tickets/Submit


I take it as "no"... :wink:

User avatar
doktornotor
Ask me anything
Posts: 7519
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 5:44 am

Re: Unfortunate installation - how to remove IT Mgmt Station

Post by doktornotor » Tue Jul 08, 2014 6:05 pm

xtv wrote:I take it as "no"... :wink:


Obviously the amount of people willing to install apparently untested broken junk only to find out what garbage and damage is left after uninstall is close to zero. QNAP's QA seems to be virtually nonexistent. :roll:
I'm gone from this forum till QNAP stop wasting volunteers' time. Get help from QNAP helpdesk instead.
Warning: offensive signature and materials damaging QNAP reputation follow:
QNAP's FW security issues
QNAP's hardware compatibility list madness
QNAP's new logo competition
Dear QNAP, kindly fire your clueless incompetent forum "admin" And while at it, don't forget the webmaster!

xtv
Know my way around
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 6:21 pm

Re: Unfortunate installation - how to remove IT Mgmt Station

Post by xtv » Tue Jul 08, 2014 6:31 pm

xtv wrote:Question:
Anyone knows if there is there any other leftover data I should take care to remove in order to move back to the pre-install state?


For the records:
Found another bit - in the standard web dir remains a pulse2 directory (empty).

BTW, the question above is still open if anyone wants to add something.

Cheers,
S.

QNAPJauss
QNAP Staff
Posts: 499
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 12:18 pm
Location: Taipei, TAIWAN

Re: Unfortunate installation - how to remove IT Mgmt Station

Post by QNAPJauss » Fri Jul 11, 2014 8:15 pm

Hi,

Those folder are not removed on purpose : "computers", "imaging", "isos", "masters", "packages", "postinst" and "pulse"
This is to avoid data loss in case of any use remove the QPKG by mistake.

It is not necessary to remove everything if you want to install again.

However, to "restart" from a pre-install state :
- remove those folders
- For MySQL : during the configuration wizard of pulse, there is an option to "reset the database". This option will clean the existing Pulse database in MySQL. (you could also reinitilize all MySQL from the NAS UI, but this will delete all existing database in MySQL. )

BR,
Jauss

cbragwel
Starting out
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 12:25 am

Re: Unfortunate installation - how to remove IT Mgmt Station

Post by cbragwel » Mon Aug 18, 2014 7:36 am

I uninstalled Mandriva and then had to SSH into the NAS to delete all the folders that were left behind. However, when I reboot my NAS, the folders come back. Anyone else dealing with this?

Post Reply

Return to “IT Management Station”