Lost Plex App in Menu/Desktop

Plex allows you to aggregate all your personal media and access it anywhere you go. Enjoy your own media on all your devices with the Plex Media Server.
Post Reply
Denrael
Starting out
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 11:52 pm

Lost Plex App in Menu/Desktop

Post by Denrael » Fri Apr 24, 2020 12:32 am

I have Plex installed on my QNAP TS-563. The only place I can see it however is to go into AppCenter and open it from there. It does not show up as a shortcut on the desktop or in the Hamburger Menu in the upper left for any user including admin. I do have it set to display on "Every User's Menu" when I look at the drop down via AppCenter. Ideas on how I can get it back in my hamburger menu of installed apps?

Thanks
---
Model:TS-563 | Firmware 4.3.2
Acquired: 2017/03/06
Network : 2x 1.0GbE, non-trunking
Drive Configuration: 4 x (WD Red) 3.0TB Raid 6
Coming From: Drobo 5n

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 20548
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Lost Plex App in Menu/Desktop

Post by dolbyman » Fri Apr 24, 2020 1:14 am

maybe a complete reinstall ? (of Plex not the NAS)

is plex that important as a menu point ?

users should use a plex player (web or device) , why would they use the QNAP web interface to click on it ?

holger_kuehn
Know my way around
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:45 pm
Location: Premnitz, Germany

Re: Lost Plex App in Menu/Desktop

Post by holger_kuehn » Sat Apr 25, 2020 6:10 pm

There should be a menu point "add shortcut to desktop".

Gesendet von meinem HTC One M9 mit Tapatalk

NAS (production): TS-1635AX FW: 4.5.1.1495 build 20201123
NAS (backup): TS-1635AX FW: 4.5.1.1495 build 20201123
QTS (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 2TB Samsung Evo 860 M.2-Sata
Data (QTier): [RAID-6] 4 x 500GB Samsung Evo 860 Sata
Data (HDD): [RAID-6] 5 x 14TB WD Red
RAM: 8 GB (QNAP shipped)
UPS: CyberPower CP900EPFCLCD
BACKUP: 10x4TB WD Red using a USB 3.0 Dock

NAS: TS-873U-RP FW: 4.5.1.1480 build 20201108
Data (SSD): [RAID-10] 4 x 1TB Samsung Evo 860 Sata
RAM: 8 GB (QNAP shipped)
UPS: CyberPower PR2200ELCDRT2U
BACKUP: 4TB Synology DS214 FW: DSM 6.2.3.25426 Update 2

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 20548
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Lost Plex App in Menu/Desktop

Post by dolbyman » Sat Apr 25, 2020 9:52 pm

OP said plex is not in the "hamburger menu"...that is where the desktop shortcut could be created

Post Reply

Return to “Plex Media Server”