Qsirch stopped with 'insufficient memory'

Post Reply
lexvo
Know my way around
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 1:54 am
Location: Netherlands

Qsirch stopped with 'insufficient memory'

Post by lexvo » Mon Aug 26, 2019 2:06 pm

Two days ago I installed Qsirch. It started indexing and this morning I found it had stopped with an 'insufficient memory' error. I have a TS-453Be with 4 GB RAM. There was nothing else running, except for a backup. There is only 1 to 2 TB of data on the TS-453Be so I do not understand indexing would be problematic (there are a lot of small files however).

Is there a log somewhere I can take a look at?
TS-453Be with FW 4.5.1.1495 build 20201123, 4GB RAM, 4x WD Red 4TB RAID 5
TS-119P+ with FW 4.3.3.1315 build 20200611

User avatar
Toxic17
Ask me anything
Posts: 5433
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Qsirch stopped with 'insufficient memory'

Post by Toxic17 » Mon Aug 26, 2019 3:19 pm

What firmware revision and build are you using?

I'm guessing QSirch didnt have enough memory at the time it was doing something. are you running other memory intensive apps? VMs? Backups will take memory and 4GB is required for optimum performance for QSirch apparently.

their will be very little in the way of log files.

you could run the QNAP Diagnostics Tool, and see if there is anything else logged in the dumped files.

Report it to QNAP and see if they can enlighten you on anything.
Regards Simon

QTS 4.x User Guidex

QNAP Club Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


NAS: TS-473-32GB QM2-2P QXG-10G1T 4.4.2.1354 • TVS-463-16GB 4.4.2.1354 QM2-2S10G1TB • TS-459 Pro 2GB 4.2.6 • TS-121 4.3.3.1161 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G •
QPKG's: Plex 1.19.3 • Apache73 v2443.74070 • QSonarr 3.0.3.809 • QNBZGet 21.0 • phpMyAdmin 5.0.2 • Qmono 6.80.105 • McAfee 3.1.0 -6010 • HBS 3.0.200424 • LEgo v3.6.0
Network: VM Hub 3.0 <500/35> • UniFi USG Pro 4 • UniFi USW-16-150W • UniFi USW-8-60W • UniFi CloudKey Gen2+ • UniFi G3-Flex • UAP AC Pro • UAP AC Lite • SLM2008 • Dell 7050 MFF •

occamsrazor
Know my way around
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 8:30 pm

Re: Qsirch stopped with 'insufficient memory'

Post by occamsrazor » Mon Aug 26, 2019 5:33 pm

Toxic17 wrote:
Mon Aug 26, 2019 3:19 pm
you could run the QNAP Diagnostics Tool, and see if there is anything else logged in the dumped files.
Unrelated to the original post, but.... Is the "QNAP Diagnostics Tool" still available? I don't see it anymore in my App Center.....
TS-451 [4 x 10TB WD Reds in Raid-5]
TS-239 Pro II [2 x 3TB in Raid-0]
pfSense router and Ubiquiti Unifi switches
Mac Minis, MacBook Pro, iPhones

User avatar
Toxic17
Ask me anything
Posts: 5433
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Qsirch stopped with 'insufficient memory'

Post by Toxic17 » Mon Aug 26, 2019 9:37 pm

The diagnostics tool is available for QTS 4.3.6 (451), so I guess your using the Beta 4.4.1 if you cant see it.

https://www.qnap.com/en-uk/app_center/? ... at_choose=
Last edited by Toxic17 on Tue Aug 27, 2019 12:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: incorrect URL
Regards Simon

QTS 4.x User Guidex

QNAP Club Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


NAS: TS-473-32GB QM2-2P QXG-10G1T 4.4.2.1354 • TVS-463-16GB 4.4.2.1354 QM2-2S10G1TB • TS-459 Pro 2GB 4.2.6 • TS-121 4.3.3.1161 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G •
QPKG's: Plex 1.19.3 • Apache73 v2443.74070 • QSonarr 3.0.3.809 • QNBZGet 21.0 • phpMyAdmin 5.0.2 • Qmono 6.80.105 • McAfee 3.1.0 -6010 • HBS 3.0.200424 • LEgo v3.6.0
Network: VM Hub 3.0 <500/35> • UniFi USG Pro 4 • UniFi USW-16-150W • UniFi USW-8-60W • UniFi CloudKey Gen2+ • UniFi G3-Flex • UAP AC Pro • UAP AC Lite • SLM2008 • Dell 7050 MFF •

lexvo
Know my way around
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 1:54 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Qsirch stopped with 'insufficient memory'

Post by lexvo » Mon Aug 26, 2019 11:05 pm

Toxic17 wrote:
Mon Aug 26, 2019 9:37 pm
The diagnostics tool is available for QTS 4.3.6 (453Be), so I guess your using the Beta 4.4.1 if you cant see it.

https://www.qnap.com/en-uk/app_center/? ... at_choose=

best you raise a case with QNAP regarding your issue, if you're running beta firmware, which could be why you are having issues in the first place. I found the QTS 4.4.1 too buggy for my liking.
I think you are answering to the wrong poster :)

I have QTS 4.3.6.0993 on my TS-453Be
TS-453Be with FW 4.5.1.1495 build 20201123, 4GB RAM, 4x WD Red 4TB RAID 5
TS-119P+ with FW 4.3.3.1315 build 20200611

lexvo
Know my way around
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 1:54 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Qsirch stopped with 'insufficient memory'

Post by lexvo » Mon Aug 26, 2019 11:14 pm

Toxic17 wrote:
Mon Aug 26, 2019 3:19 pm
What firmware revision and build are you using?

I'm guessing QSirch didnt have enough memory at the time it was doing something. are you running other memory intensive apps? VMs? Backups will take memory and 4GB is required for optimum performance for QSirch apparently.

their will be very little in the way of log files.

you could run the QNAP Diagnostics Tool, and see if there is anything else logged in the dumped files.

Report it to QNAP and see if they can enlighten you on anything.
I am on QTS 4.3.6.0993 build 20190704.

As far as I know, I am not running any memory intensive apps. As a matter of fact, there are only a few apps running at the moment (Backup Station, VPN server, web server, Notification center, Malware remover, nothing else).

I run a RTRR backup every night and the first night Qsirch and the backup have run together with no problems. This morning after the second night (and the second backup) I got the error message. So I am not sure running a backup is the problem.

I think I'm going to re-install Qsirch and try again (I want to exclude some directories). If it is still not working I will file a ticket with QNAP.
TS-453Be with FW 4.5.1.1495 build 20201123, 4GB RAM, 4x WD Red 4TB RAID 5
TS-119P+ with FW 4.3.3.1315 build 20200611

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 20548
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Qsirch stopped with 'insufficient memory'

Post by dolbyman » Mon Aug 26, 2019 11:21 pm

lexvo wrote:
Mon Aug 26, 2019 11:05 pm
Toxic17 wrote:
Mon Aug 26, 2019 9:37 pm
The diagnostics tool is available for QTS 4.3.6 (453Be), so I guess your using the Beta 4.4.1 if you cant see it.

https://www.qnap.com/en-uk/app_center/? ... at_choose=

best you raise a case with QNAP regarding your issue, if you're running beta firmware, which could be why you are having issues in the first place. I found the QTS 4.4.1 too buggy for my liking.
I think you are answering to the wrong poster :)

I have QTS 4.3.6.0993 on my TS-453Be
Check one post above that answer .. a thread hijacker

lexvo
Know my way around
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 1:54 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Qsirch stopped with 'insufficient memory'

Post by lexvo » Tue Aug 27, 2019 3:03 am

Just a thought. If Qsirch runs out of memory because some other proces is running, wouldn't it be better if it paused itself instead of quitting with an error? And isn't there virtual memory which could be used? Would be nice if these things could be parametrised. Or am I thinking too simple? :)
TS-453Be with FW 4.5.1.1495 build 20201123, 4GB RAM, 4x WD Red 4TB RAID 5
TS-119P+ with FW 4.3.3.1315 build 20200611

lexvo
Know my way around
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 1:54 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Qsirch stopped with 'insufficient memory'

Post by lexvo » Tue Aug 27, 2019 1:20 pm

Yesterday evening I removed Qsirch, rebooted my NAS and installed Qsirch again. This morning it was ready indexing (a bit to my surprise). There was also a backup running last night, so running backup and indexing Qsirch at the same time doesn't seem a problem.

So either the previous almost finished index database was still there or it helped that I excluded a share with a disk image / sparsebundels.

Anyway, problem solved. And current CPU usage looks good too.
TS-453Be with FW 4.5.1.1495 build 20201123, 4GB RAM, 4x WD Red 4TB RAID 5
TS-119P+ with FW 4.3.3.1315 build 20200611

lexvo
Know my way around
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 1:54 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Qsirch stopped with 'insufficient memory'

Post by lexvo » Wed Aug 28, 2019 3:28 am

Hmmm, problem not solved it seems. Qsirch was ready with indexing this morning and tonight I tried some search queries. Then I discovered a warning sign in the right upper corner. When I clicked on it, it said "too little memory, restart Qsirch or else expand memory". Well, I have 4 GB and 2 GB already should be enough to run Qsirch.

I am going to file a ticket.

The ironic thing is, my NAS the TS-453Be is listed as recommended model (with 2/4 GB RAM) on the QNAP Qsirch page....
TS-453Be with FW 4.5.1.1495 build 20201123, 4GB RAM, 4x WD Red 4TB RAID 5
TS-119P+ with FW 4.3.3.1315 build 20200611

lexvo
Know my way around
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 1:54 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Qsirch stopped with 'insufficient memory'

Post by lexvo » Tue Sep 17, 2019 6:22 am

I had filed a ticket and QNAP service investigated my log files.
Yesterday I rebooted my NAS, QSirch did some indexing and now everything seems to be working OK :)

I will watch how it goes the coming days, but so far I'm glad the problem is solved.
TS-453Be with FW 4.5.1.1495 build 20201123, 4GB RAM, 4x WD Red 4TB RAID 5
TS-119P+ with FW 4.3.3.1315 build 20200611

glennmac
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:56 pm

Re: Qsirch stopped with 'insufficient memory'

Post by glennmac » Thu Sep 19, 2019 8:45 am

How much data do you have? The more data, the more RAM you will need.

lexvo
Know my way around
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 1:54 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Qsirch stopped with 'insufficient memory'

Post by lexvo » Thu Sep 19, 2019 4:54 pm

glennmac wrote:
Thu Sep 19, 2019 8:45 am
How much data do you have? The more data, the more RAM you will need.
Well, that was the thing that surprised me: this NAS is just a few weeks old and I only have 2 TB of data on it. Should be no problem for QSirch, hence I was surprised by that insufficient memory error. I supplied both the system log files and the QSirch log files to QNAP support, but they didn't have a direct answer either.

A reboot of my NAS solved the problem and it is still running fine after a few days. My guess it is a bug or a glitch in QSirch.
TS-453Be with FW 4.5.1.1495 build 20201123, 4GB RAM, 4x WD Red 4TB RAID 5
TS-119P+ with FW 4.3.3.1315 build 20200611

glennmac
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:56 pm

Re: Qsirch stopped with 'insufficient memory'

Post by glennmac » Thu Sep 19, 2019 10:21 pm

4GB is not enough to search 2TB. You would need at least 8GB unfortunately and sorry to say I am finding that even that is running out of memory and I am needing to put in 16. I am speaking from experience installing multiple QNAPs, some of them with less than 2TB, some of them with around 3TB. It just stops working eventually. You can either stop/start Qsirch or reboot the device. Installing RAM is a more permanent fix (I am hoping). I a not entirely sure if Qsirch is capable of grabbing the memory it needs even if it is available.

Post Reply

Return to “Qsirch & Qfiling”