ES1640DC v2 Failover Speed

smccloud
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 2:37 am

Re: ES1640DC v2 Failover Speed

Post by smccloud » Thu Dec 05, 2019 7:51 am

So, I was wrong. SCB is active but I'm still seeing traffic on both controllers.

QNAP support responded and said it should fail over faster than it is.

User avatar
storageman
Ask me anything
Posts: 5511
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: ES1640DC v2 Failover Speed

Post by storageman » Thu Dec 05, 2019 5:02 pm

You mean "sorry I was wrong". Giving me duff info!
Sounds like your network settings are wrong.

Should be 30-40 seconds failover - did u follow the manual precisely?
You must have matching pairs of nics across both controllers, eg 1&2 SCA and 1&2 ports SCB each in the same subnets

smccloud
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 2:37 am

Re: ES1640DC v2 Failover Speed

Post by smccloud » Thu Dec 05, 2019 8:58 pm

storageman wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 5:02 pm
You mean "sorry I was wrong". Giving me duff info!
Sounds like your network settings are wrong.

Should be 30-40 seconds failover - did u follow the manual precisely?
You must have matching pairs of nics across both controllers, eg 1&2 SCA and 1&2 ports SCB each in the same subnets
Port 1 on SCA & port 1 on SCB are both in the 192.168.201.0 subnet, port 3 on SCA & port 3 on SCB are both in the 192.168.202.0 subnet.

User avatar
storageman
Ask me anything
Posts: 5511
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: ES1640DC v2 Failover Speed

Post by storageman » Thu Dec 05, 2019 9:38 pm

smccloud wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 8:58 pm
storageman wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 5:02 pm
You mean "sorry I was wrong". Giving me duff info!
Sounds like your network settings are wrong.

Should be 30-40 seconds failover - did u follow the manual precisely?
You must have matching pairs of nics across both controllers, eg 1&2 SCA and 1&2 ports SCB each in the same subnets
Port 1 on SCA & port 1 on SCB are both in the 192.168.201.0 subnet, port 3 on SCA & port 3 on SCB are both in the 192.168.202.0 subnet.
That should work too.

smccloud
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 2:37 am

Re: ES1640DC v2 Failover Speed

Post by smccloud » Thu Dec 05, 2019 9:40 pm

storageman wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 9:38 pm
smccloud wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 8:58 pm
storageman wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 5:02 pm
You mean "sorry I was wrong". Giving me duff info!
Sounds like your network settings are wrong.

Should be 30-40 seconds failover - did u follow the manual precisely?
You must have matching pairs of nics across both controllers, eg 1&2 SCA and 1&2 ports SCB each in the same subnets
Port 1 on SCA & port 1 on SCB are both in the 192.168.201.0 subnet, port 3 on SCA & port 3 on SCB are both in the 192.168.202.0 subnet.
That should work too.
Yeah, now to wait for QNAP support to get back to me.

User avatar
storageman
Ask me anything
Posts: 5511
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: ES1640DC v2 Failover Speed

Post by storageman » Thu Dec 05, 2019 9:44 pm

Pretty sure you're networking is wrong somewhere if you're seeing 15 mins failover.
Anyway you can force a failover yourself to test time.
Make sure you're not using VLANs that are messing things up.
This shows with switch redundancy:
Capture.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

smccloud
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 2:37 am

Re: ES1640DC v2 Failover Speed

Post by smccloud » Thu Dec 05, 2019 9:59 pm

storageman wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 9:44 pm
Pretty sure you're networking is wrong somewhere if you're seeing 15 mins failover.
Anyway you can force a failover yourself to test time.
Make sure you're not using VLANs that are messing things up.
This shows with switch redundancy:

Capture.JPG
Other than IPs and the fact that we have more hosts, that is how everything is setup.

User avatar
storageman
Ask me anything
Posts: 5511
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: ES1640DC v2 Failover Speed

Post by storageman » Thu Dec 05, 2019 10:02 pm

smccloud wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 9:59 pm
storageman wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 9:44 pm
Pretty sure you're networking is wrong somewhere if you're seeing 15 mins failover.
Anyway you can force a failover yourself to test time.
Make sure you're not using VLANs that are messing things up.
This shows with switch redundancy:

Capture.JPG
Other than IPs and the fact that we have more hosts, that is how everything is setup.
And you still maintain it takes 15 mins to failover or that was fixed?

smccloud
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 2:37 am

Re: ES1640DC v2 Failover Speed

Post by smccloud » Thu Dec 05, 2019 10:04 pm

storageman wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 10:02 pm
smccloud wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 9:59 pm
storageman wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 9:44 pm
Pretty sure you're networking is wrong somewhere if you're seeing 15 mins failover.
Anyway you can force a failover yourself to test time.
Make sure you're not using VLANs that are messing things up.
This shows with switch redundancy:

Capture.JPG
Other than IPs and the fact that we have more hosts, that is how everything is setup.
And you still maintain it takes 15 mins to failover or that was fixed?
Last I tested it was around 15 minutes total failover time. Although please take that with a huge grain of salt because I didn't actually have a stop watch. I know for sure it was at least 5 minutes. I will have to come in on a weekend (yay! :( ) in order to test when it won't affect the business.

User avatar
storageman
Ask me anything
Posts: 5511
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: ES1640DC v2 Failover Speed

Post by storageman » Thu Dec 05, 2019 10:32 pm

It may be your issues are related to NFS, personally I would switch to ISCSI.

I'm assuming you've been through this.
https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/tutorial ... e-storage/

BTW where have you read QES supports multipathing NFS, NFS4 supports multipathing but that doesn't necessarily mean Qnap does.

SAMBA 4 supports multipathing but Qnap doesn't for QTS.
Last edited by storageman on Thu Dec 05, 2019 10:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

smccloud
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 2:37 am

Re: ES1640DC v2 Failover Speed

Post by smccloud » Thu Dec 05, 2019 10:52 pm

storageman wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 10:32 pm
It may be your issues are related to NFS, personally I would switch to ISCSI.

I'm assuming you've been through this.
https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/tutorial ... e-storage/
I am actually in the process of switching to iSCSI. Just takes time to migrate 34 VMs, 31 of which are running.

And that is the guide I followed. So far, iSCSI has been more performant than NFS so I'm OK with making the switch.

User avatar
storageman
Ask me anything
Posts: 5511
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: ES1640DC v2 Failover Speed

Post by storageman » Thu Dec 05, 2019 10:54 pm

smccloud wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 10:52 pm
storageman wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 10:32 pm
It may be your issues are related to NFS, personally I would switch to ISCSI.

I'm assuming you've been through this.
https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/tutorial ... e-storage/
I am actually in the process of switching to iSCSI. Just takes time to migrate 34 VMs, 31 of which are running.

And that is the guide I followed. So far, iSCSI has been more performant than NFS so I'm OK with making the switch.
Good move!

smccloud
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 2:37 am

Re: ES1640DC v2 Failover Speed

Post by smccloud » Thu Dec 05, 2019 10:56 pm

storageman wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 10:54 pm
smccloud wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 10:52 pm
storageman wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 10:32 pm
It may be your issues are related to NFS, personally I would switch to ISCSI.

I'm assuming you've been through this.
https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/tutorial ... e-storage/
I am actually in the process of switching to iSCSI. Just takes time to migrate 34 VMs, 31 of which are running.

And that is the guide I followed. So far, iSCSI has been more performant than NFS so I'm OK with making the switch.
Good move!
It just **, migrate host, then migrate host & storage since our vSphere license doesn't allow me to migrate just storage on a running VM :(

smccloud
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 2:37 am

Re: ES1640DC v2 Failover Speed

Post by smccloud » Wed Dec 18, 2019 9:16 pm

And switching to iSCSI resolved the issue. Failover of the NAS controller no longer takes all the running VMs out of commission :D

User avatar
storageman
Ask me anything
Posts: 5511
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: ES1640DC v2 Failover Speed

Post by storageman » Wed Dec 18, 2019 9:28 pm

Haha, told you!

Post Reply

Return to “QES Operating System (QNAP Enterprise Storage OS)”