QES Global Hotspares with diffrent capacities ?

Post Reply
myg4ever
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 11:36 pm

QES Global Hotspares with diffrent capacities ?

Post by myg4ever » Wed May 20, 2020 1:28 am

Hi All,

I notice that the QES system supports only Global Hotspare while the ready disk considered a global hot-spare!

So what happened with a scenario of multi RAID Groups with different disks and different capacities of each RAID Group?
If a disk failed from a specific raid group does QES will pick the right hot-spare disk?

In QTS it's clear that you can do dedicated hot-spare disks for the RAID Group but this feature is not in QES so is there a way to implement dedicated hot-spare on QES?

Thanks

myg4ever
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 11:36 pm

Re: QES Global Hotspares with diffrent capacities ?

Post by myg4ever » Sun May 24, 2020 12:22 am

Anybody there ??!!

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19629
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: QES Global Hotspares with diffrent capacities ?

Post by dolbyman » Sun May 24, 2020 1:52 am

I guess nobody thats uses qes

only qes regular is storageman ..and he hasn't been here for a couple of weeks

best to ask qnap via ticket then

User avatar
qrusher
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2018 9:51 pm
Location: RUserious
Contact:

Re: QES Global Hotspares with diffrent capacities ?

Post by qrusher » Thu May 28, 2020 2:07 am

wellcome
NAS User Manual
http://docs.qnap.com/


rtfm :arrow:
crush qnaps like a thanos crushing planets
Updates are compromise between old bug patches and new bugs introduced. 8)
do you backup..then kill it with fire
stuff:mikrotik Crs309-1g-8s+in & s+rj10 x4

Post Reply

Return to “QES Operating System (QNAP Enterprise Storage OS)”