QTS stuck on loading, QFinder cannot find Nas either...

Don't miss a thing. Post your questions and discussion about other uncategorized NAS features here.
User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 21265
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: QTS stuck on loading, QFinder cannot find Nas either...

Post by dolbyman » Thu Aug 06, 2020 5:30 am

could both be a result of a not working system

webserver times out and leaves the blue screen
service that talkes to qfinder times out

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 8477
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: QTS stuck on loading, QFinder cannot find Nas either...

Post by OneCD » Thu Aug 06, 2020 5:34 am

dolbyman wrote:
Thu Aug 06, 2020 5:30 am
webserver times out and leaves the blue screen
service that talkes to qfinder times out
Qfinder "talks" to QTS via the web UI. ;)

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 21265
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: QTS stuck on loading, QFinder cannot find Nas either...

Post by dolbyman » Thu Aug 06, 2020 5:52 am

OneCD wrote:
Thu Aug 06, 2020 5:34 am
Qfinder "talks" to QTS via the web UI. ;)
there ya go ...

still..could be the cause .. or an effect ..

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 8477
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: QTS stuck on loading, QFinder cannot find Nas either...

Post by OneCD » Thu Aug 06, 2020 6:19 am

Agree. :geek:

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

moctodpanq
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 4:25 am

Re: QTS stuck on loading, QFinder cannot find Nas either...

Post by moctodpanq » Thu Aug 06, 2020 6:05 pm

BTW guys, it was raid scrubbing! Could raid scrubbing be the cause? Or did Raid scrubbing start due to me yanking the power cord? Yikes.

moctodpanq
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 4:25 am

Re: QTS stuck on loading, QFinder cannot find Nas either...

Post by moctodpanq » Tue Aug 11, 2020 10:04 am

Can someone explain the difference between Raid scrubbing and raid ground synchronizing?

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 8477
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: QTS stuck on loading, QFinder cannot find Nas either...

Post by OneCD » Tue Aug 11, 2020 11:05 am

moctodpanq wrote:
Tue Aug 11, 2020 10:04 am
Can someone explain the difference between Raid scrubbing and raid ground synchronizing?
  • Raid scrubbing: the process of recalculating all parity blocks in a multi-drive array, rewriting those that are incorrect.
  • Raid ground synchronizing: the process of coordinating multiple & simultaneous forced-entries into known hostile environments. Typically used by police on drug-houses.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

moctodpanq
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 4:25 am

Re: QTS stuck on loading, QFinder cannot find Nas either...

Post by moctodpanq » Tue Aug 11, 2020 12:14 pm

OneCD wrote:
Tue Aug 11, 2020 11:05 am
moctodpanq wrote:
Tue Aug 11, 2020 10:04 am
Can someone explain the difference between Raid scrubbing and raid ground synchronizing?
  • Raid scrubbing: the process of recalculating all parity blocks in a multi-drive array, rewriting those that are incorrect.
  • Raid ground synchronizing: the process of coordinating multiple & simultaneous forced-entries into known hostile environments. Typically used by police on drug-houses.
LOL! But seriously, what is it? Plex kept saying it can't connect to my server. I logged in QTS to see what's up. Its "synchronizing" that will take over 15 hrs.

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 8477
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: QTS stuck on loading, QFinder cannot find Nas either...

Post by OneCD » Tue Aug 11, 2020 12:42 pm

moctodpanq wrote:
Tue Aug 11, 2020 12:14 pm
LOL! But seriously, what is it?
Sorry, I couldn't resist - too much caffeine this morning. ;)

"RAID group synchronizing" means the NAS is ensuring the data stored on your array member drives is correctly configured to ensure array redundancy. Which will be needed if a drive fails and the array needs to recover. It's a more involved operation than scrubbing, so it takes longer to perform.

If you ever replace a member drive with a new drive, the new drive must be synchronised with the array.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

moctodpanq
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 4:25 am

Re: QTS stuck on loading, QFinder cannot find Nas either...

Post by moctodpanq » Tue Aug 11, 2020 1:24 pm

OneCD wrote:
Tue Aug 11, 2020 12:42 pm
moctodpanq wrote:
Tue Aug 11, 2020 12:14 pm
LOL! But seriously, what is it?
Sorry, I couldn't resist - too much caffeine this morning. ;)

"RAID group synchronizing" means the NAS is ensuring the data stored on your array member drives is correctly configured to ensure array redundancy. Which will be needed if a drive fails and the array needs to recover. It's a more involved operation than scrubbing, so it takes longer to perform.

If you ever replace a member drive with a new drive, the new drive must be synchronised with the array.
But it was a very apropos joke with what's going on in the world.

Is it normal to not be able to do anything during this time? My mapped drives on the PCs are saying inaccessible, sending files from my phone not working... But I can log into QTS, and I see it's cooking.

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 8477
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: QTS stuck on loading, QFinder cannot find Nas either...

Post by OneCD » Tue Aug 11, 2020 1:32 pm

moctodpanq wrote:
Tue Aug 11, 2020 1:24 pm
Is it normal to not be able to do anything during this time? My mapped drives on the PCs are saying inaccessible, sending files from my phone not working... But I can log into QTS, and I see it's cooking.
You might look at changing the 'RAID sync priority'. It's probably set a little high for your NAS. If you turn it down, the sync will take longer, but the NAS will be more responsive.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

moctodpanq
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 4:25 am

Re: QTS stuck on loading, QFinder cannot find Nas either...

Post by moctodpanq » Wed Aug 12, 2020 1:26 am

OneCD wrote:
Tue Aug 11, 2020 1:32 pm
moctodpanq wrote:
Tue Aug 11, 2020 1:24 pm
Is it normal to not be able to do anything during this time? My mapped drives on the PCs are saying inaccessible, sending files from my phone not working... But I can log into QTS, and I see it's cooking.
You might look at changing the 'RAID sync priority'. It's probably set a little high for your NAS. If you turn it down, the sync will take longer, but the NAS will be more responsive.
It was set to high. Okay, good to know. It is done now. I can access my NAS fine, I can move around files and send new files to it. So it all appears as it should. But... why does my DataVol1 show as UNMOUNTED now? I was trying to install new apps, and I got a bunch of errors saying, "there is no available volume... check the volume status..." How is it I can move files from my PC to my NAS still? But not install apps in QTS?

What to do when it says umounted?

moctodpanq
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 4:25 am

Re: QTS stuck on loading, QFinder cannot find Nas either...

Post by moctodpanq » Wed Aug 12, 2020 1:50 am

Okay, it's back, it just needed a file check.

Post Reply

Return to “Miscellaneous”