Page 1 of 1

TS-659 Pro II Web Interface IP Mangling

Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2020 1:52 am
by chriskner
Our network was recently reconfigured, requiring a shift in IP4 addressing.

Our QNAP was happily running along with a static IP of 129.0.0.3 before the change. We could administer this TS659 via the web interface without issue.

Along comes the network config change. We successfully change the static IP to on the QNAP 10.3.0.3 to make it compatible with our current setup... Success!

Except the web interface.

If I browse to 10.3.0.3, the interface times out with no connection. And strangely, the IP address in the browser bar goes from http://10.3.0.3 to http://129.0.0.3:8080/cgi-bin/

If I manually replace http://129.0.0.3:8080/cgi-bin/ with http://10.3.0.3:8080/cgi-bin/ then the web interface comes up, and I can interact with the TS659 again.

The same is true with all the various browser flavors, and OS's, across our LAN. This is the only device on our LAN that is misbehaving like this.

See the (2) attached pics.

Any ideas?

Regards,
Chris

Re: TS-659 Pro II Web Interface IP Mangling

Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2020 1:58 am
by dolbyman
129.0.0.3 is a public Cameroon IP.. so check that one
https://awebanalysis.com/en/ip-lookup/129.0.0.3/

Flush your local ARP cache, see if that helps

Also only activate the Web server, if you actually need it running, if you are just using QTS GUI.. no need to activate it (it's using a different web server)

Re: TS-659 Pro II Web Interface IP Mangling

Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2020 2:25 am
by chriskner
Thanks for the quick reply!

Forgive my ignorance, but clear arp the cache from my desktop or QNAP?

On desktop:

Code: Select all

C:\WINDOWS\system32>arp -d

C:\WINDOWS\system32>arp -a

Interface: 10.3.0.11 --- 0xc
  Internet Address      Physical Address      Type
  10.3.0.2              10-60-4b-88-b5-b5     dynamic
 [b] 10.3.0.3 [/b]             00-08-9b-cd-d8-57     dynamic
 <deleted a bunch. all 10.3.0.x >
  224.0.0.2             01-00-5e-00-00-02     static
  224.0.0.22            01-00-5e-00-00-16     static
  224.0.0.251           01-00-5e-00-00-fb     static
Same results.

I do not see an arp command available via SSH on the QNAP.

In any case here is the ARP table from the QNAP:

Code: Select all

[~] # cat /proc/net/arp
IP address       HW type     Flags       HW address            Mask     Device
10.3.0.47        0x1         0x2         68:05:ca:90:0f:b6     *        eth0
10.3.0.135       0x1         0x2         b8:6b:23:64:58:14     *        eth0
10.3.0.254       0x1         0x2         64:d1:54:31:af:be     *        eth0
<deleted a bunch. all 10.3.0.x >
10.3.0.2         0x1         0x2         10:60:4b:88:b5:b5     *        eth0
10.3.0.41        0x1         0x2         40:a8:f0:68:fa:db     *        eth0
10.3.0.5         0x1         0x2         10:60:4b:88:b5:b5     *        eth0
10.3.0.3 (Itself) not listed.

Re: TS-659 Pro II Web Interface IP Mangling

Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2020 2:32 am
by dolbyman
ARP on your desktop

Re: TS-659 Pro II Web Interface IP Mangling

Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2020 2:38 am
by chriskner
"Also only activate the Web server, if you actually need it running, if you are just using QTS GUI.. no need to activate it (it's using a different web server)"
Disabling the web server brought everything back into line. We haven't made any use of it, so we won't miss it.

Thanks for letting me know what paths to explore.

Best regards,
Chris