Storage Volume

Don't miss a thing. Post your questions and discussion about other uncategorized NAS features here.
Post Reply
Jvpix.com
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2020 11:33 pm

Storage Volume

Post by Jvpix.com » Fri Aug 21, 2020 10:07 am

Hi, I have the TS-653D and put 2 hardrives in it so far, a standard HDD and an SSD. I created a JBOD storage pool with both drives and created a volume. then i deleted everything as I'm experimenting. I went to create another JBOD storage pool but now it says I can't create a raid storage pool with two different types of drives. Why did it let me create it the first time, but not anymore?

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 20010
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Storage Volume

Post by dolbyman » Fri Aug 21, 2020 10:55 am

creating a raid over ssd and hdd makes no sense

just stick two hdd in raid1 in that nas..that is the way 90% of two bay units should be setup..unless you have a specific reason to not do so

Jvpix.com
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2020 11:33 pm

Re: Storage Volume

Post by Jvpix.com » Fri Aug 21, 2020 7:25 pm

Well i set it up as a jbod which just combines disks. Thats technically not a raid. But anyways, just wondering why it let me do it the first time, but not again after that. Not important though.

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 20010
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Storage Volume

Post by dolbyman » Fri Aug 21, 2020 9:02 pm

you said it wouldnt let you create a raid..just told you why

those jbod disks also make no sense to use (even if the qnap lets you create it)... they will be filled up sequentually .. makes no sense for any usage

Post Reply

Return to “Miscellaneous”