RAID 5 - Legacy volumen unmounted (see latest posts)

Don't miss a thing. Post your questions and discussion about other uncategorized NAS features here.
Post Reply
kparzinger
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2016 6:01 pm

RAID 5 - Legacy volumen unmounted (see latest posts)

Post by kparzinger » Fri Sep 04, 2020 5:39 pm

Hello,

on yesterday my QSYNC stopped working during some work on my PC. Then I checked the network drives and they where not accessible.
I tried to open the webinterface of my TS-469L and I remembered that I started a Firmware update one night before.
The new webinterface showed off a guide but something was strange: In the app center no application was listed and also all features where disabled.

Then I tried to reboot the NAS. After the reboot the NAS came back in the same state. In though one of the best options will be to re-update the same firmware 4.3.4.1417
The firmware update runs normal but after the reboot my NAS was dead. Access via webinterface returned "Connection refused". And also access via Smartphone App and QNAP Cloud stopped working.

The support center told me a factory reset will be the best option: After the factory reset the NAS appears with the old name and the user admin wont work with default passwords (admin or macadress).
Therefore I think the NAS is not resetting at all.

I have plugged in a HDMI cable and I can the the prompt but same here I cant login with admin or one of my old user accounts.
I really afraid about losing all my data.

So I tried to start the NAS without HDDs and the installation wizard appears. I plugged in the HDDs and tried a factory reset. After rebooting and clicking on "Go to Management" the installation wizard reappears.

Last week I changed 1 HDD successfully. I plugged in the old HDD (single) and I can access the webinterface with the default admin password (I did also a factory reset to get this working).

So some questions are in my head: What if:
- Start the NAS with the old HDD from last week in the old Slot as single drive
- after booting plugin in the other 3 HDDs and create the same old shares

Will this recover the RAID5? If yes, I can totally life with data from last week.

Or will there be a better way. (btw. I maybe lost the admin password which was set to the NAS before this happened).
Last edited by kparzinger on Sat Sep 05, 2020 5:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

kparzinger
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2016 6:01 pm

Re: NAS wont work - Connection refused, Firmware corrupt?

Post by kparzinger » Fri Sep 04, 2020 9:59 pm

update the NAS is now running (with the new drive not the test with the old drive) but the storage manager tells me a RAID-5 is unmounted.

[~] # cat /proc/mdstat
#Personalities : [linear] [raid0] [raid1] [raid10] [raid6] [raid5] [raid4] [multipath]
md0 : active raid5 sda3[5] sdd3[4] sdc3[6] sdb3[7]
8786092608 blocks super 1.0 level 5, 64k chunk, algorithm 2 [4/4] [UUUU]

md256 : active raid1 sdd2[3](S) sdc2[2](S) sdb2[1] sda2[0]
530112 blocks super 1.0 [2/2] [UU]
bitmap: 0/1 pages [0KB], 65536KB chunk

md13 : active raid1 sda4[0] sdd4[3] sdc4[2] sdb4[1]
458880 blocks [4/4] [UUUU]
bitmap: 36/57 pages [144KB], 4KB chunk

md9 : active raid1 sda1[0] sdd1[3] sdc1[2] sdb1[1]
530048 blocks [4/4] [UUUU]
bitmap: 1/65 pages [4KB], 4KB chunk

unused devices: <none>
[~] # #

kparzinger
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2016 6:01 pm

Re: NAS wont work - Connection refused, Firmware corrupt?

Post by kparzinger » Fri Sep 04, 2020 10:05 pm

md_checker

Welcome to MD superblock checker (v1.4) - have a nice day~

Scanning system...

HAL firmware detected!
Scanning Enclosure 0...

RAID metadata found!
UUID: cac33545:aaa10650:a5b3539d:5c53a720
Level: raid5
Devices: 4
Name: md0
Chunk Size: 64K
md Version: 1.0
Creation Time: Dec 27 17:53:58 2013
Status: ONLINE (md0) [UUUU]
===============================================================================
Disk | Device | # | Status | Last Update Time | Events | Array State
===============================================================================
1 /dev/sda3 0 Active Sep 4 16:05:09 2020 2289083 AAAA
2 /dev/sdb3 1 Active Sep 4 16:05:09 2020 2289083 AAAA
3 /dev/sdc3 2 Active Sep 4 16:05:09 2020 2289083 AAAA
4 /dev/sdd3 3 Active Sep 4 16:05:09 2020 2289083 AAAA
===============================================================================

kparzinger
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2016 6:01 pm

Re: NAS wont work - Connection refused, Firmware corrupt?

Post by kparzinger » Fri Sep 04, 2020 10:19 pm

e2fsck_64: A block group is missing an inode table while reading bad blocks inode


Volume1: UNEXPECTED INCONSISTENCY; RUN fsck MANUALLY.
(i.e., without -a or -p options)

Post Reply

Return to “Miscellaneous”