Remote relay control?

Don't miss a thing. Post your questions and discussion about other uncategorized NAS features here.
Post Reply
daxliniere
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 6:48 pm

Remote relay control?

Post by daxliniere » Wed Sep 16, 2020 7:05 pm

I'm about to receive a TS-231K and I have been thinking for ways I could use it to control a relay (electronic switch) to remotely power-up a local computer.

I'm electronically savvy, but have no idea where to even start researching this. There are some USB relay PCBs available and I think they have an on-board USB<>RS232 (serial) adaptor, so it might be as simple as writing a character to a serial port, but I have no idea if this would be possible.

In my ideal world, I would have an app on the QNAP desktop that I can click which would engage the relay for 0.5s (without requiring me to run a console and type commands, but perhaps that can be setup into a batch file of sorts? I really have no idea what the QNAP box is capable of.)

Any and all help is greatly appreciated!

All the best,
Dax.

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 20100
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Remote relay control?

Post by dolbyman » Wed Sep 16, 2020 7:25 pm

not sure why you want to do that via a qnap

how about a raspi with webhooks?

or just a prebuild smart plug ?

daxliniere
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 6:48 pm

Re: Remote relay control?

Post by daxliniere » Wed Sep 16, 2020 7:33 pm

Hi Dolbyman,

IP address could change, I understand this is not a problem for QNAP.
It's not about turning on/off the mains power, which is what a smart plug would do. If you see in my original message, I mentioned energising the relay for half a second. (I will wire it to the power button.)

I think I have found something new; it could be possible with QIoT, but I'm not sure about the relay requirements for that.

Thanks,
Dax.

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 20100
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Remote relay control?

Post by dolbyman » Wed Sep 16, 2020 7:36 pm

you can assign a fixed IP (outside the dhcp range) to any device

most raspi and adruino have a multitude of GPIO that could be used to close low voltage circuits (power buttons,relays,etc)

havent heard much about qiot after the initial release..that (mostly) isn't a good sign

User avatar
jaysona
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 289
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 11:26 am
Location: Somewhere in the Great White North

Re: Remote relay control?

Post by jaysona » Thu Sep 17, 2020 3:36 am

To do something like this in QTS, you would need to write a QPKG and deal with QNAPs crippled implementation of Linux.

You'll be much better off and go through less blood, sweat and tears by using a RasPi/Arduino as doblyman suggested.
H/W: TS-219 Pro / TS-269 Pro / TS-253 Pro (8Gig) / TS-509 Pro x2 / TS-569 Pro
H/W: TS-670 Pro (i7-3770S 16Gig) x2 / TS-853 Pro (8Gig) / TVS-871 Pro (i7-4790S 16Gig)
O/S: Slackware 14.2 / MS Windows 7-64 (x5)
Router1: Asus RT-AC86U - Asuswrt-Merlin - 384.19
Router2: Asus RT-AC68U - DD-WRT v3.0-r39960M kongac
Router3: Linksys WRT1900AC - DD-WRT v3.0-r43028 std
Router4: Asus RT-AC66U - FreshTomato v2020.7
Misc: Popcorn Hour A-110/WN-100, Pinnacle Show Center 250HD, Roku SoundBridge Radio (all retired)

Post Reply

Return to “Miscellaneous”