What are you doing with your Qnap?

Don't miss a thing. Post your questions and discussion about other uncategorized NAS features here.
Post Reply
xavierh
Experience counts
Posts: 1099
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 6:15 am
Location: Denton, Texas

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by xavierh » Wed Jun 05, 2013 10:10 pm

can i say everything that i want it to do?

QNAP TVS-951x QTS 4.5.1.1480 build 20201108 OS Storage Pool: Samsung 860 EVO 250GB SSD x 4 (RAID 5), Data Storage Pool: WD WD30EFRX (Red) 3TB x 4 (RAID 5), 16GB RAM WD Easystore 10TB External USB 3.0 Services: SMB, Appletalk, QPKG: Container Station, HBS 3
QNAP TS-453A QTS 4.5.1.1480 build 20201108 Services: SMB, HBS 3
Network: UDM, UDM Beacon, Unifi 8 Port Switch x 3, Flex Mini Switch

kherr4377
Been there, done that
Posts: 897
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 3:33 am

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by kherr4377 » Fri Jun 07, 2013 11:05 am

469L (4 - 3T raid5+1, will be raid5 when I need the extra space) As a file server and backup destination of 4 W7 boxes.

Another 468L( 4 - 2T raid5, 2T only because I had them leftover when I cannibalized 2 out dated ReadyNAS boxes)
Used to backup the fist. It is in my garage if the house goes, I still have my files.

They both have about the same final space, so mirroring them is not a problem.

sumoafro
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 10:28 am

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by sumoafro » Tue Jul 23, 2013 12:01 pm

Just figured out how to get a Minecraft server running on a TS-212-US. Pretty slick!

Performance is okay for now, a bit choppy. My next step is to see if I can add/upgrade the RAM... :DD

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43664
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by schumaku » Tue Jul 23, 2013 12:05 pm

sumoafro wrote:My next step is to see if I can add/upgrade the RAM.
No such option on the small ARM based NAS models.

drwhois
Starting out
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 5:28 pm

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by drwhois » Fri Aug 23, 2013 10:00 pm

i'm just abusing it

User avatar
flynia
Starting out
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2013 5:53 pm

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by flynia » Fri Aug 30, 2013 12:32 pm

NAS: QNAP TS-469L with 3GB RAM
Drives: 4 x 3 TB Segate Drives in Raid 5
Backup: Two spare 3TB Drives used for USB Backup of Documents/Music and Video once a Week

I use it for:

Filesharing: SMB and AFP (have Windows and Mac's obviously).
TV/Video: Twonky, CouchPotato, Sickbeard and SABnzbd
Torrents: Transmission and Download Station.
iTunes Server: Headphones for donwloading and sharing via Firefly.

Josh_1234
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 12:04 am

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by Josh_1234 » Fri Nov 01, 2013 12:24 am

TS-869 Pro here with the upgraded 3GB of ram. (bought the ram from elsewhere as qnap was farrrr too expensive)

I use mine purely for iSCSI.

I have about 10 targets / LUNs setup and these are used by my ESXI server.

I have all 8 bays full with a RAID 1, RAID 5, RAID 5 configuration.
RAID 1 is made up of 2 1TB 10k HDDs
RAID 5 is made up of 3 3TB WD REDs
RAID 5 is made up of 3 1.5TB WD drives


Works very well for my needs.

User avatar
dsylexicdog
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2013 7:38 am

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by dsylexicdog » Fri Dec 20, 2013 8:32 am

TS-559 4.0.2 RAID 5, 5x2TB Enterprise class drives baby!
2 & 3TB External ESATA/USB Backup Drives (its an old NAS now)

Plex straight to the Sumsung Series C, Andriod S4, Windows PCs via Plex Web for any media.. even training videos.
Twonky DLNA just for good measure.
Transmission.
Windows image backups (no more rebuilding my PCs from scratch), make sure you turn on sparse file support in the SMB config.
All of my data, drivers, OS source in once place with backups, priceless.

Now attempting to configure PXE..it might take me a while :shock: RTFM

atrix415
Know my way around
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 4:44 pm

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by atrix415 » Wed Feb 05, 2014 5:50 pm

My Newest is Airprint. :)

QTS 4.0

User avatar
monty007
Starting out
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2014 10:42 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by monty007 » Mon Mar 10, 2014 2:03 pm

just got into the NAS scene. Really excited about my unit. What I'm hoping to do with it:

1) iTunes Server
2) Time Machine backup
3) remote downloader for torrents
4) Family share point for Pics/Music/Docs
5) Print Server
6) Web server for personal blog/web page
7) remote access for work files
TS-451: 4 x 3TB WD Red in Raid5 = 8.12 TB pool (Media streaming, backup for TimeMachine, Plex & Twonky, downloads)
TS-420: 2 x 3TB WD Red in Raid1 - SS Pro and auxilary backup.

Klitten
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 3:08 am

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by Klitten » Mon Mar 17, 2014 2:13 pm

Hi

I use my QNAP for many things:

iTunes server
TimeMachine for several macs
BT Downloads
iSCSI connections for 1 LUN target - my MediaCenter (Backup of recorded TV)
File share (SMB/AFP)
WebServer
Picture store
Virtulization of WinServer 2012 with PRTG network monitor & DVBLink (TV Server)

Best regards Tom
Tom Klitgaard - DK

User avatar
Man Drake
Starting out
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 2:37 am

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by Man Drake » Wed Apr 23, 2014 4:25 am

Hardware in the Sig...

1) Plex, often 2 or 3 client at the same time ;-)
2) Backup of my PC/Mac's (TimeMachine / Acronis)
3) File Sharing inhouse
4) Music
5) running up to 5 VM Machine (Win 8.1 / XP / Win 7/ Linux) for me an the kids with Virtualization Station
Greetz ... Steffen

TS-670 ULTRA modding a normal 670 with I7 and 16GB Ram, 5x 4TB with RAID5 an 1x 4TB for Backup / FW 4.1
TS-459 Pro II with 3GB RAM and 4x 3TB JBOD and 1x 4TB Usb 3.0 for backup of the other NAS[/b].

Zodiac69
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 4:21 pm

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by Zodiac69 » Sat May 10, 2014 7:32 pm

TS-859U+ 8x2TB in Raid5 configuration. (Firmware 4.0.7)

Main idea is to use it as a media storage for Plex that is loaded on a Dell R210.
All works fine, but it is in "mothball" stage until i can get the unit to run cooler as the noise from the fans are not acceptable.

Z69

uholmes
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 12:35 am

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by uholmes » Sat May 10, 2014 7:56 pm

Man Drake wrote:Hardware in the Sig...

1) Plex, often 2 or 3 client at the same time ;-)
2) Backup of my PC/Mac's (TimeMachine / Acronis)
3) File Sharing inhouse
4) Music
5) running up to 5 VM Machine (Win 8.1 / XP / Win 7/ Linux) for me an the kids with Virtualization Station


Any luck getting Acronis to work with Win8?

uholmes
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 12:35 am

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by uholmes » Sat May 10, 2014 7:57 pm

Man Drake wrote:Hardware in the Sig...

1) Plex, often 2 or 3 client at the same time ;-)
2) Backup of my PC/Mac's (TimeMachine / Acronis)
3) File Sharing inhouse
4) Music
5) running up to 5 VM Machine (Win 8.1 / XP / Win 7/ Linux) for me an the kids with Virtualization Station


Any luck getting Qnapto work with Acronis and Win8?

Post Reply

Return to “Miscellaneous”