Page 11 of 17

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Posted: Sun May 11, 2014 1:54 am
by kherr4377
Acronis and Win7 here, no problems .......

Can you otherwise connect alright with the "Q" with Windows ?????

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Posted: Sun May 11, 2014 3:07 am
by uholmes
Acronis and Win7 isn't an issue. It's Acronis, win 8 and Qnap. MS changed something in their file transfer protocol (I forget what exactly it was.. And I'm a network engineer so go figure) with Win 8 and it's impossible for a lot of folks to get backups going. There was a 'fix' floating around for Samba, but it didn't work for me. All my win 7 and linux boxes have no issues... It's just the only 2 win 8 boxes I have that refuse to work. I'm forced to back them up on my Zyxel NAS that I was trying to provision for another purpose.

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Posted: Sun May 11, 2014 4:01 am
by kherr4377
I didn't know that there was a Win8 specific problem.

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Posted: Sun May 11, 2014 4:27 am
by uholmes
I shouldn't lump Acronis in.. It's not an Acronis issue. I get the same issue when using the built in Win 8 system backup. If I point the destination to my Zyxel, no issues. There are a few threads floating around about it.

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Posted: Sun May 11, 2014 4:27 am
by uholmes
I shouldn't lump Acronis in.. It's not an Acronis issue. I get the same issue when using the built in Win 8 system backup. If I point the destination to my Zyxel, no issues. There are a few threads floating around about it.

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2014 8:11 pm
by goldfinger

  • backup for pc data
  • dlna / media server for wlan music player, xbox360
  • networkshare for smartphones (there are android apps)
  • tbc: irc client, maybe mailserver (to be compiled)

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Posted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 3:09 pm
by chrischambers
I am slowy adding more functions to mine but at the moment I have

-Media storage = All my Movies and TV Films
-Data back-up = Using True Image to backup all data
-Data storage = Home Folders and misc stuff.
-Print Server

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Posted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 10:47 pm
by kekec777
I use mine for :

Data storage
Phone picture and phone contacts - Sync directly photo from mobile to qnap
Plex server
Xbmc
Homepage + with php admin to block ip adr.
Rtorrent - also controlled from mobile / tablet
Vbox - Installed Win. xp sp3 - controlled from http or mstsc

i have a ts-269l

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 1:04 pm
by dgiaffe
Totally still exploring, but so far I am using my Qnap for:
- Plex Server for media content (Movies and TV Shows only, streaming my music with Google Music)
- Teamspeak Server
- BT Downloads
- Google Drive backup (All of my pics and important data are on the cloud. The QNAP is one of the copies if it EVER fails)
- Unifi Controller of Ubiquiti Access Points (I just have one access point lol, but turns out to be really handy!) :geek:
- Starting to fiddle with the Virtualization Station, but haven't found any use for it yet. Wanted to put a virtual Sophos UTM (aka Astaro) Firewall, but i didn't find a way to put two virtual network cards in two different vlans.

I'm really happy as most of the services and products I'm using had an option of a QPKG so therefore it was a really smooth process.

I might just edit that post if I add other stuff in the future :D

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Posted: Thu Aug 07, 2014 4:07 pm
by atacama40
TS-410 2x3TB Hitachi .... 2 to add

1. Store movies to stream via RJ45 to networked Panasonic TV's
2. As a Sonos server to Sonos boxes around home
3. Trying to set up remote access stuff to a Nexus 7 - mixed success, getting better
4. As the normal store for music, photos, video, documents
5. Need to set up for backup's for devices but again struggling a bit to get that going reliably

Highly reliable box and software if a little difficult for non-competents to configure

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Posted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 1:18 am
by engineer
I'm new to NASes and am using it for:
- data storage for documents, ebooks, audiobooks, videos
- Plex server for internal and external of home network access
- iPhone auto-upload photo backups

Possible future uses:
- iTunes server
- FTP server for occasionally transferring files
- Wordpress site host
- either OwnCloud or Bittorrent Sync server
- music server to stream to Denon Heos wireless speaker system
- storage for Adobe Lightroom catalog
- run Windows 10 virtualization
- video surveillance server
- Time Machine backups

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Posted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 3:40 pm
by Moogle Stiltzkin
right now i just use my qnap for storage purposes. mostly for my media such as videos, music, manga....

i also stream alot via mpc hc playback to watch videos, or using foobar2000 to listen to music.

i do it either from my pc desktop or smartphone :}


I use to host a website from my qnap, but i have a very wonky performance experience where apache will come to a stand still and require a restart for apache way too often for it to be usable. i don't know what is wrong but till it gets fixed, i've disabled web server.

i wanted to try moving my site onto nginx but i don't know how to configure nginx site securely or how to migrate from apache to nginx.

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Posted: Mon Mar 09, 2015 6:12 pm
by Kalma
I own a TS-212 model, which is kinda limited in its CPU capabilities. I have tried to boost performance, so I disconnected almost everything (Media Library, Video Station, Media Station, Photo Station and so on), keeping it as simple and free of background processes as possible. I use it for:

At home:
- Media Repository (thru NFS), to stream media to a Raspberry Pi with XBMC-OPENELEC.
- DLNA Server, usingTwonky, to stream media directly to a Smart TV (Search for new media interval set to 15 minutes).
- Radio broadcasting (over the LAN), using IceCast

Over the Internet (accessible from anywhere using myqnapcloud):
- Media Repository: File Station (on the Web Server GUI) from PC, or QFile on Android.
- If I have enough connection speed, I stream directly to the browser using VLC. If not enough speed, then I download the media first, using HTTP.
- Share data with friends and family, using a guest account, with just File Station available.
- Radio broadcasting (over the Internet), using IceCast

... Simple and fast, but very effective.

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2015 7:16 pm
by BlissSol
I just deployed a TS-420U & TS-120 inside a Business...

The TS-420U has 3 x 2TB + 1 x 4TB HDD's...
3 of these Hard Disks are in a RAID
It acts as a central File Server for the Business (syncing with AD on a Server 2012 R2 system),
And VPN Access for staff

The TS-120 does a daily backup of the 3 HDD's in RAID on the TS-420U

The 4th Hard Disk (4TB) in the TS-420U does a monthly backup of the TS-120.

Both NAS Systems are housed in Separate Building's (owned by the 1 company) ~ its figured the likelihood of both building's going up in flames or broken into at the same time, is quite unlikely. Additionally, in the past we've had either USB HDD's or Tape Backup's to be taken offsite overnight - but staff we're useless in remembering to do it... so alot of the time there would never be offsite backup's.

We don't backup local PC's to the NAS, as the business uses Google Apps - and we've just synchronized the local PC with Google Drive for backup.

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Posted: Sun Nov 15, 2015 7:02 am
by kanylbullen
I have an old SS-839 Pro. The DOM module, where the QNAP OS is installed failed a while back so I ordered a new one on ebay. To get my files back that were on the RAID disks i figured it would be worth a try to boot from a ubuntu stick. It not only worked but it worked quite well so I decided to install Ubuntu Server 14.04 on my Qnap. I have been running that for a while, working perfectly. My linux skills are somewhat limited so today I decided to try installing windows on it instead. I had already upgraded the RAM to the maximum 2GB so i prepared a USB stick with Windows 10 32-bit and gave it a go!

Image
Image