TS-231 not entering Standby mode

Discussion about hard drive spin down (standby) feature of NAS.
Post Reply
BackupKid
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 7:58 am

TS-231 not entering Standby mode

Post by BackupKid » Thu Oct 13, 2016 11:26 pm

Hi there.

I conducted a search of the forums and was unable to find an answer to my problem. Also, apologies for the cross-post. I did not realize there was a sub-forum dedicated to spin down issues.

I am a new user of a TS-231 and am looking for some help. I have initialized by TS-231 in a RAID 1 config and have been able to save files to the unit. However the TS-231 is not entering standby mode. I am in need of help figuring out why. My details are below.

TS-231
2 x 3TB drives
Default install
No additional apps installed on the system
Media server, iTunes server, etc disabled

When not in use the systems looks as follows:
- two solid green HD lights
- flashing orange LAN light

I found this URL (https://wiki.qnap.com/wiki/Hard_drives_spindown_issues) and have run the .sh file. I can post the results here if it will be helpful. I ran the .sh file but was not sure what I was looking for.

Thank you.

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 20100
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: TS-231 not entering Standby mode

Post by dolbyman » Fri Oct 14, 2016 12:05 am

Sure run it and post the results in a zip file and attach to the post

Also not quite sure why you had to open a new thread ... you already made one for this

viewtopic.php?f=25&t=126605&p=572691#p572691

BackupKid
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 7:58 am

Re: TS-231 not entering Standby mode

Post by BackupKid » Fri Oct 14, 2016 1:56 am

Thanks dolbyman.

I made the double post as I did not realize there was a subforum dedicated to standby issues. A noob mistake.

I'll zip and post to results. Thank you.

mikemgee23
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 1:31 pm

Re: TS-231 not entering Standby mode

Post by mikemgee23 » Sat Oct 15, 2016 5:45 pm

Same problem w./ the TS-231.

BackupKid
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 7:58 am

Re: TS-231 not entering Standby mode

Post by BackupKid » Mon Oct 24, 2016 6:24 am

Ok, as follow up when I run the script I am seeing several entries stating "Dirtied inode".

Could that be an issue on why the drives won't go in to standby mode? What is a dirtied inode anyway?

Thank you.

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 20100
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: TS-231 not entering Standby mode

Post by dolbyman » Mon Oct 24, 2016 11:17 am

you need to post the results (zip em up)

Post Reply

Return to “HDD Spin Down (HDD Standby)”