bad block scan spin down?

Discussion about hard drive spin down (standby) feature of NAS.
Post Reply
User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 9267
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

bad block scan spin down?

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Thu Jul 06, 2017 3:15 pm

I was running a bad block scan on 5 hdds on a ts-509 pro with the latest firmware out now.

Much later on when i access qts i hear the hdds spinning up.

then when i'm in qts i see only 1 of the hdds completed block scan. the other 4 all around 50%

so doesn't that mean that spindown basically paused bad block scan? cause i don't see how it can be doing that in a spindown state. I could tell because my drives make a distinctive powering up sound when spinning up from idle mode.

My question is, is that intended behaviour? or should i report this is as a bug ?

During bad block scan, the hdds should not be flagged for spinning down drives....
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 +16gb ddr4 Crucial+ QWA-AC2600 wireless+QXP PCIE
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TL-D400S 2x 4TB WD Red Nas (WD40EFRX) single disks.
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228
[^] QNAP TS-128
[Mobile NAS] TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Win10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review
https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43664
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: bad block scan spin down?

Post by schumaku » Thu Jul 06, 2017 10:15 pm

The only thing prohibiting the HDD spin-down is the cache wetting. Well possible the badblock check does make use of physical I/O only, and the cache is never touched. Figure - disable the HDD spin-down for this time. Probably an oversight ... unlikely to be fixed on these legacy systems anymore.

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 9267
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: bad block scan spin down?

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Thu Jul 06, 2017 10:39 pm

schumaku wrote:The only thing prohibiting the HDD spin-down is the cache wetting. Well possible the badblock check does make use of physical I/O only, and the cache is never touched. Figure - disable the HDD spin-down for this time. Probably an oversight ... unlikely to be fixed on these legacy systems anymore.


yeah.... i heard ts-509 is eol by end of this year for sure... o well... i already done all i could for it :} still using as an emergency storage when i need a little extra space temporarily. other than that i leave it off when not in use.

anyhow a quick fix was to disable spin down UNTIL after i finish doing the hdd bad block scan. that works :)
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 +16gb ddr4 Crucial+ QWA-AC2600 wireless+QXP PCIE
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TL-D400S 2x 4TB WD Red Nas (WD40EFRX) single disks.
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228
[^] QNAP TS-128
[Mobile NAS] TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Win10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review
https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

Post Reply

Return to “HDD Spin Down (HDD Standby)”