Page 1 of 1

QNAP NAS is not going to standby mode at all

Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2020 4:54 am
by MRKachhia
I recently purchased QNAP NAS.

Model name: TVS-1282T3
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7700 CPU @ 3.60GHz (4 cores, 8 threads)
Firmware version: 4.4.2.1270 Build 20200410
HDD : Seagate Exos 16TB x 4 (RAID 5)
SSD : Samsung Evo Plus 500GB x 2 (Read-Only Cache Acceleration)

I usually need this NAS around 4 hours a day and want to be in STANDBY MODE for rest of the day.

I have Enabled Disk Standby Mode and tried for different time. (i.e. 5 mins, 10 mins, 30 mins etc.) But unfortunately none of them works.
I stopped every applications and even removed most of them but still the system is not going in standby mode.
It looks like that something happening back-end which is keeping the HDDs spinning whole the time.

I can confirm that
  • None of the applications running behind.
  • Not a single Media server is running.
  • Port forwarding in router is also disabled right now.
  • No other user apart from myself is set up in the system.
  • No folder mapping from other computer.
  • Not using mobile app to access this NAS storage.
  • Not a single synchronization running behind. I have removed Google Drive and Dropbox Sync time being.
  • File indexing is also finished 24 hours back.
  • Have created 1 storage Pool and 4 Thick Volumes for HDDs. All of them are almost 90% empty.
  • No HDMI cable, No Thunderbolt, No USB attached with NAS.
  • Only one Ethernet cable is attached to NAS from Router.
By reading old threads, I can understand that this is a well known issue of QNAP NAS and many users have faced the same.
I just want to know whether there is any work around to make HDD sleep apart from shutting down?
TIA

Regards,
MK

SOLUTION - QNAP NAS is not going to standby mode at all

Posted: Mon Apr 20, 2020 5:30 pm
by hinaufgeschaut
Hi MRKachhia,

I struggled with the same issue. I finally solved the problem:
- make sure that all conditions in the link are met
https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/faq/arti ... andby-mode
- go to https://wiki.qnap.com/wiki/Hard_drives_spindown_issues
- download the blkdevMonitor_20151225.sh and run it on the NAS accoring to the manual in the link above
- here you will see the activites of the processes
- wait a couple of minutes until the NAS calms down
- make sure all device in you home network are off or idle


In my case the "evil" process that caused constant HDD writes was the "rsyslogd" which is the syslog server which is activated per defaut on a new system.
- You find it here: Control Panel / Applications / Syslog Server
· you do not need it, the system event protocol will stay alive

Another strange thing is the name of the SMB group.
YOU REALLY HAVE TO RENAME THE SMB GROUP INTO SOMETHING DIFFERENT FROM "WORKGROUP"

As soon as you get back to "WORKGROUP" the SMB service starts writing to disk and avoids HDD standby.


Finally my NAS only runs three services
- SAMBA Server
- OpenVPN Server (with myfritz as ddns on router)
- Ressouce Monitor
I do not mount the shares in Windows with a drive letter. I put them to Windows Quick access, instead. This avoids waking the NAS when a Windows machine logs in without a current need for access to a share.
On my android devices a use the TotalCommander with LAN plugin. Works perfect with openvpn out of house. For backup I use SMBSync2. No need for the QNAPCloud at all.
For media i use KODI on a FIRE-TV which uses the samba share.

The HDDs go to sleep now and wake up only when adressed by clients via SAMBA.

Best Regards

Re: QNAP NAS is not going to standby mode at all

Posted: Sun Apr 26, 2020 6:32 pm
by Skenkz
Hi all,
i have the same problem. I tired to disable\stop all services (SMB, etc.) but he QNAP does not go in standby mode. In my case Qnap model is TS-219P.
I used the script "blkdevMonitor_20151225.sh", in every steps i have alway this output: https://pastebin.com/HwAc9And

I configured my disks(2) as RAID1.

I don't understand what could be the problem. Please could you help me to address this issue?

Thanks a lot everyone.
MM

Re: QNAP NAS is not going to standby mode at all

Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2020 10:55 pm
by MRKachhia
@ hinaufgeschaut : Thanks for your reply !
1st rsyslogd
I followed your steps and found that in my case also, rsyslogd is evil.
I have disabled it now according to your instructions and will see whether this would solve my problem or not.

2nd SMB group
Where I will find this and how to rename it?

3rd
Do you have Plex or Emby server installed?
How are you accessing your movies and videos outside your home network/wifi?
Do port forwarding enable from router will stop NAS to go standby mode?

TIA
MK

Re: QNAP NAS is not going to standby mode at all

Posted: Fri May 01, 2020 2:00 am
by hinaufgeschaut
Hi, I am long time tracking the Qnap with a DECT Energy meter. In the energy consumption trend you can see that the NAS wakes up several times a day when nobody is at home. I believe now that there is a bug in the firmware.
I am using no media server at all. my home theater runs with a fire TV stick with Kodi installed. Kodi uses the network share. when I am out of my home I listen music through Spotify. so I do not need to stream media out of my house.

Re: QNAP NAS is not going to standby mode at all

Posted: Fri May 01, 2020 3:14 am
by MRKachhia
Means your NAS standby issue is still there?

Re: QNAP NAS is not going to standby mode at all

Posted: Fri May 01, 2020 3:12 pm
by hinaufgeschaut
Unfortunately, yes. Goes to sleep but wakes up several times a day, without external trigger. I gave up hunting and wait for new firmware.

Re: QNAP NAS is not going to standby mode at all

Posted: Fri May 01, 2020 6:01 pm
by MRKachhia
The same happening with my NAS. I followed your instructions and found that at least my NAS is gong to STANDBY Mode.
But it wakes up automatically after few minutes and I have really no idea what is running behind which causing it to wake.
I already created a support ticket with QNAP support team.
They asked me to perform one test by another and even after 17 days of discussion with them, we don't have any solution.
Issue is, they are even not accepting that this is a firmware issue.
I am really disappointed with such customer service.

Re: QNAP NAS is not going to standby mode at all

Posted: Wed May 13, 2020 3:37 pm
by MRKachhia
I created a ticket for this with QNAP support team and they are not helping in a proper way.
It's now 4+ weeks and they are neither giving any solution nor accepting that this is a firmware issue.
They asked me to start remote access so that the technical team can do certain testing. I enables remote access 3 times but they never gave me any feedback.
Funny thing is, when I am asking for feedback, they are asking me to enable remote access. Don't know what is going on....!!!!
I don't think so they have people for customer service who are capable of handling such issues.
Very sad that I spent my money on QNAP.

Re: QNAP NAS is not going to standby mode at all

Posted: Wed May 13, 2020 3:52 pm
by OneCD
MRKachhia wrote:
Wed May 13, 2020 3:37 pm
I created a ticket for this with QNAP support team and they are not helping in a proper way.
Please don't post this same information in multiple topics. I've removed your cross-posts.

Re: QNAP NAS is not going to standby mode at all

Posted: Tue May 19, 2020 12:49 am
by MRKachhia
Today I have received reply on my ticket from technical and support team. According to them, QNAP NAS not going to standby mode is not known issue.
This is something they haven't came across before.
Is there anyone who has raised ticket on this issue before?

Re: QNAP NAS is not going to standby mode at all

Posted: Fri May 22, 2020 9:48 pm
by hinaufgeschaut
Hi,
with recent FW 4.4.2.1310 HDDs are going to sleep.

Re: QNAP NAS is not going to standby mode at all

Posted: Sat May 23, 2020 3:27 pm
by WilNasU
Hi,
I encounter the same problem. The HD's go only to standby/sleep mode when setting inactive time to 5 min.. But wake-up after 5 min. (cycles at a 10 min. interval).
Nothing is active other than QNAP processes like manaRequest.cgi,.....
When the inactive time is set to 15 min they never go to standby mode (also when disconnected from the LAN).
I updated my TS-453BE to FW 4.4.2.1310 but no change.

Re: QNAP NAS is not going to standby mode at all

Posted: Sun May 31, 2020 2:26 am
by Stefanix
Any idea how it is supposed to work with different storage pools? I have a 4-Bay NAS with 2 storage pools. The second storage pool should keep snapshots only. My idea is that the first storage pool is active most of the time, while the second storage pool should be sleeping / standby most of the time. Is it only all or nothing or should the sleep mode work on a per storage pool basis? I am pretty new to QNAP and just testing the device before I put any real data on it. So at the moment its quite idle but seems not to go to standby at all.