[Discussion] Not entering HDD standby mode?

Discussion about hard drive spin down (standby) feature of NAS.
Post Reply
QNAPRei
Been there, done that
Posts: 700
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 1:16 pm
Location: Taipei
Contact:

[Discussion] Not entering HDD standby mode?

Post by QNAPRei » Thu Aug 30, 2007 6:16 pm

First of all, make sure you have enabled the "disk standby mode" function in System Tools/ Hardware Settings on the administration page. If the function does not work according to your settings, you may check if the following services are running. There must NOT be any access to these services for the HDD standby mode to work.

1. UPnP function on NAS, your router or IP sharing device
2. NTP server
3. BT download
4. AD service
5. QNAP Finder
6. Share folder mapping
7. DMZ service on your router or IP

Also, if your NAS is shared among multiple PC on the same network, be sure there is no access from the PC to the NAS.

Note: If you have installed add-on programs like SlimServer on your NAS, the HDD standby mode of QNAP NAS might not function since these programs might affect the service access status to the NAS.
Last edited by QNAPRei on Wed Sep 05, 2007 11:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

DannagE
Starting out
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 7:04 pm
Location: UK

Post by DannagE » Mon Sep 03, 2007 7:11 pm

Mine goes into standby when I'm watching a movie from it or when I am listening to music off it.

Its the only thing I can see that would cause it to stop responding after an hour ever hour since I have had it. I've changed it to see if it works, because to me it doesn't seem like a hdd spindown its more like a network reset on the box ://

Mines the TS-209 btw. :evil:

DannagE
Starting out
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 7:04 pm
Location: UK

Post by DannagE » Mon Sep 03, 2007 7:31 pm

Erm yeah. Changed it to 10 minutes. And sure enough 9.45 into a song and it stopped whilst the hard drives went into standby.

How can it not tell that im using the drive :shock:

Anyway. I look forward to a solution to this. Other than to turn off the hdd spindown. As thats the point of the nas for me :/

DannagE
Starting out
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 7:04 pm
Location: UK

Post by DannagE » Mon Sep 03, 2007 8:01 pm

1. Model name - TS-209
2. Firmware version - Version 1.1.0 build 0727T
3. Operation System (OS) - Vista 32Bit
4. OS Language - English
5. Number of HDDs - 2
6. HDD model - Hitachi HDS721075KLA330 GK8O
7. HDD capacity - 750GB unformatted. 698.64GB formatted
8. RAID configuration - Raid0
9. Services enabled - Just microsoft networking, FTP, multimedia etc. off at the moment
10. External devices - None
11. Network bandwidth/ MTU - GigE 1000mb

ingo
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 2:14 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

HDD standby not work

Post by ingo » Tue Sep 04, 2007 2:36 am

Hi,
I'm using TS-209 with two Samsung HD501LJ (single drive mode).
The HDD standby not work. I have configured it to 10 minutes. Nobody access the TS-209 and the download station is not running.
I tried this with Firmware version 1.1.0 and updated then to Version 1.1.1 build 0831T. The problem still occures.
Any ideas ?

regards,
Ingo

pingu
Starting out
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 4:35 pm

Post by pingu » Tue Sep 04, 2007 4:55 pm

Another won't-standby QNAP here :(

Model: TS-209
Firmware: 1.1.1 build 0831T
Disks: 2x WD5000AAKS
Config: RAID-1
Router: Draytek Vigor 2600
Services: FTP, web file, download, multmedia, twonky (rescan = 0)

Even tried unplugging the network cable and still no spin down.
Come on QNAP - this seems like a common problem and it's one of the most important features to me.

Hoping for help......
pingu.
Last edited by pingu on Tue Sep 04, 2007 8:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MarkRy
Starting out
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 5:50 pm

Post by MarkRy » Tue Sep 04, 2007 4:56 pm

I have TS-109. It only goes into standby when my router is switched off. At night I just have the router on (and no services running) - it whirrs away all night. This is annoying and costly.

1.1.0 Firmware.

Sent an email to UK support last week. Havent heard anything yet.

DannagE
Starting out
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 7:04 pm
Location: UK

Post by DannagE » Tue Sep 04, 2007 6:51 pm

I don't know what's going on with mine then! As mine seems to go into standby for fun when it feels like it. I can be sitting here streaming a movie from it or listening to music and all of a sudden it will just stop playing at all. Then I have to wait about 2 minutes for the NAS to respond to me, then i have to restart the song or movie as it will only play upto the point before it freezes.

I've put the latest firmware on also now and that solves nothing.

It also doesn't matter what I have the standby settings put at. I can have it on 5 minutes or 5 hours or off and it still seems random :/

Whats the next step is solving this?

Dan

User avatar
nightyy
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 7:18 pm

Post by nightyy » Tue Sep 04, 2007 7:06 pm

I think everyone should provide additional dat alike:

router model (gateway of the NAS)
nas + firmware
running services
effects


Mine:
AVM Fritzbox 7170
TS-109 v1.1.1
only ftp+samba+downloadstation
-> spins down for around two thirds of the total time if notebook is on, spins down permanently if my notebook is off, never spins down if i use anything from the ts-109
------------------------
Qnap TS-109, 1.1.4, Western Digital Caviar GP WD10EACS 1 TB
http://nachtrab.de/category/qnap-nas/

DannagE
Starting out
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 7:04 pm
Location: UK

Post by DannagE » Tue Sep 04, 2007 7:17 pm

Yeah good idea.

My router is a Netgear GS605 v2 running 1000M with CAT6 cables.
The NAS = TS-209 - Version 1.1.1 build 0831T
Services = Just multimedia station now.
Problems are up the page in the forum so Im not going to repeat them cloggin up the page :)

Dan

pingu
Starting out
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 4:35 pm

Post by pingu » Tue Sep 04, 2007 8:18 pm

Well, would you believe it, it has starting working for me.

Set it to 30 mins, shut down all PCs. Came back and it was in standby - the fan still spins but on low. (Note that the status LED didn't go out immediately - took a few seconds after it had spun down).

So, logged in to admin interface and heard the disks spin up. Changed the standby setting to 5 mins - shut down PC again and about 7 mins later, it entered standby mode again. :D

I will keep an eye on it to see if it is reliable.

User avatar
nightyy
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 7:18 pm

Post by nightyy » Tue Sep 04, 2007 10:44 pm

If the PCs are off it is reliable for me. However if the pcs are one, once in a while the nas starts to spin up. Wonder which windows service is contacting it regularly? Computer browser? network agent?
------------------------
Qnap TS-109, 1.1.4, Western Digital Caviar GP WD10EACS 1 TB
http://nachtrab.de/category/qnap-nas/

User avatar
christian
Moderator
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by christian » Tue Sep 04, 2007 11:17 pm

After firmware upgrade to 1.1.1 the "sleep modus" still doenst work!

TS-209

User avatar
nightyy
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 7:18 pm

Post by nightyy » Tue Sep 04, 2007 11:33 pm

@christian

have you tried disconnecting the nas from the network to see if it suspends the disks then?
have you tried disabling all of the services?
set suspend time to 5 minutes for testing purposes!
------------------------
Qnap TS-109, 1.1.4, Western Digital Caviar GP WD10EACS 1 TB
http://nachtrab.de/category/qnap-nas/

User avatar
nightyy
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 7:18 pm

Post by nightyy » Wed Sep 05, 2007 2:52 am

In my setup the netbios service looked up the nas every now and then and it woke up then. I deactivated it and and now the NAS, though mounted as network drive, does not wake up if not accessed:

http://nachtrab.de/2007/09/04/qnap-ts-1 ... -sporadic/
------------------------
Qnap TS-109, 1.1.4, Western Digital Caviar GP WD10EACS 1 TB
http://nachtrab.de/category/qnap-nas/

Post Reply

Return to “HDD Spin Down (HDD Standby)”