Page 1 of 1

Cryptsetup preventing spindown

Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2013 4:51 pm
by rocktheroad
I have following process preventing spindown:

<7>[174414.828461] cryptsetup(28060): READ block 0 on sda3 (1 sectors)

I didn't turned on encryption, and I have no idea how to turn off this process?

Re: Cryptsetup preventing spindown

Posted: Mon Sep 16, 2013 2:15 pm
by tyler_durden_83
rocktheroad wrote:I have following process preventing spindown:

<7>[174414.828461] cryptsetup(28060): READ block 0 on sda3 (1 sectors)

I didn't turned on encryption, and I have no idea how to turn off this process?


I have this exact issue since upgrading to qts 4.0.2, although my disks are spinning down, at least partially

Edit: ofc I don't have encryption on either, never had

Re: Cryptsetup preventing spindown

Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 7:24 pm
by spudy12
Same problem here,
<7>[337959.269478] cryptsetup(23116): READ block 0 on md0 (1 sectors)
all the time.

Not using encryption and just updated to 4.0.2 firmware

Re: Cryptsetup preventing spindown

Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:04 pm
by spudy12
Have submitted a support ticket so I'll reply if I get anything back

Re: Cryptsetup preventing spindown

Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 6:14 pm
by spudy12
Basic reply saying uninstall all qkpgs etc..

HOWEVER! From further testing I have come to the conclusion that having the web admin interface open whilst running the test is what is producing the cryptsetup reading to the disk, so when not logged in (for me anyway) it did not appear.

Still writes to the disk so more testing is needed.

Re: Cryptsetup preventing spindown

Posted: Thu Sep 19, 2013 7:12 pm
by spudy12
for anyone that is interested, I have found the cause of the problem (Well my problem anyway)

After a long time diagnosing my home network, turning everything off individually etc I found the problem the be the router.

Under the router I had RIP turned on because I was experimenting with it a few months back.
RIP sends out its routing table every 30 seconds which for some reason the NAS responded to and kept the discs active.
After disabling RIP on both routers and re running the bash script there is no longer constant access to the disk and i can confirm it goes in to standby

Hope this helps someone else

Spud

Re: Cryptsetup preventing spindown

Posted: Mon Sep 23, 2013 5:29 pm
by rocktheroad
spudy12 wrote:Basic reply saying uninstall all qkpgs etc..
HOWEVER! From further testing I have come to the conclusion that having the web admin interface open whilst running the test is what is producing the cryptsetup reading to the disk, so when not logged in (for me anyway) it did not appear.
Still writes to the disk so more testing is needed.


That was my conclusion... Web interface kept disks running... Although not sure why, I have upgraded memory so there is plenty of ram...

Nice catch for RIP, it's turned off on mine router... but it was on my TODO list to try it out :)

Re: Cryptsetup preventing spindown

Posted: Sat Jul 16, 2016 1:43 am
by marc.garcia
spudy12 wrote:for anyone that is interested, I have found the cause of the problem (Well my problem anyway)

After a long time diagnosing my home network, turning everything off individually etc I found the problem the be the router.

Under the router I had RIP turned on because I was experimenting with it a few months back.
RIP sends out its routing table every 30 seconds which for some reason the NAS responded to and kept the discs active.
After disabling RIP on both routers and re running the bash script there is no longer constant access to the disk and i can confirm it goes in to standby

Hope this helps someone else

Spud

Could you elaborate a little more on this? it surprises me that you see RIP messages being delivered to the LAN, given that RIP is a routing protocol... it does not make much sense to get RIP messages in the LAN, right?

so, could you indicate what you mean by "both routers" and "re-running the bash script"?

Re: Cryptsetup preventing spindown

Posted: Thu Nov 17, 2016 9:12 pm
by vojtek
Hello,

I have similar problem with cryptsetup. NAS won't sleep because this process trigger approximately every 15 min. I turn off RIP on my router and no difference. Process still occurred, I don't know what's trigger this.
I don't have encrypted drives. I checked ctrontab nothing there, no process triggered every 15 min. What I noticed when i have opened web interface from browser i see this process also occurred but more often. Maybe somebody have some idea?

<4>[19168.765952] cryptsetup(32204): READ block 0 on md0 (2 sectors)
<4>[19169.282533] cryptsetup(32257): READ block 0 on md0 (2 sectors)

more logs

============= 20/100 test, Thu Nov 17 13:07:14 CET 2016 ===============
<4>[16469.477149] cryptsetup(30281): READ block 0 on md0 (2 sectors)

============= 21/100 test, Thu Nov 17 13:15:29 CET 2016 ===============
<4>[16470.014805] cryptsetup(30342): READ block 0 on md0 (2 sectors)

============= 22/100 test, Thu Nov 17 13:15:42 CET 2016 ===============
<4>[17369.112688] cryptsetup(19434): READ block 0 on md0 (2 sectors)

============= 23/100 test, Thu Nov 17 13:30:32 CET 2016 ===============
<4>[17369.592616] cryptsetup(19487): READ block 0 on md0 (2 sectors)

============= 24/100 test, Thu Nov 17 13:30:46 CET 2016 ===============
<4>[18268.116254] cryptsetup(8655): READ block 0 on md0 (2 sectors)

============= 25/100 test, Thu Nov 17 13:45:34 CET 2016 ===============
<4>[18268.622446] cryptsetup(8708): READ block 0 on md0 (2 sectors)

Re: Cryptsetup preventing spindown

Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2016 3:27 pm
by dfarning
Interesting.

I noticed the same behavior on my ts-212p running os version 4.2.2. Cryptsetup runs about every 13.5 minutes. The NAS is used primarily as a home backup device and file server for large files.

I have deleted all dpkgs I could and turned of as much functionality as possible.

Re: Cryptsetup preventing spindown

Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2016 6:02 pm
by vojtek
So maybe something wrong is with latest firmware...
My NAS working also for home backup, so even when all my computers turned off, NAS not going sleep because this process. I remember previously I don't have problem with this on old firmware and old disks... I 2 weeks ago i changed my setup to new 2xwd red working in raid-1. Before change i had one drive and old firmware and was no problem with cryptsetup.

Still i cannot debug what trigger this process.