What are you doing with your Qnap?

Don't miss a thing. Post your questions and discussion about other uncategorized NAS features here.
Post Reply
kherr4377
Been there, done that
Posts: 898
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 3:33 am

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by kherr4377 » Sun May 11, 2014 1:54 am

Acronis and Win7 here, no problems .......

Can you otherwise connect alright with the "Q" with Windows ?????
Production :
TVS-673 4.3.4 0387
4 X 3TB WD RED : 1 X 4TB HGST DESKSTAR R5
32GB
LAN-10G1SR-D, FiberHal for Cisco SFP-10G-SR
NETGEAR ProSAFE SS3300-28X

Backup :
TS-469L 4.3.4 0387
4 X 3TB WD RED R5
3GB
Located detached garage .. cheap offsite solution ...

2nd TS-469L awaiting drives and reassignment for front-line duty .......

uholmes
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 12:35 am

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by uholmes » Sun May 11, 2014 3:07 am

Acronis and Win7 isn't an issue. It's Acronis, win 8 and Qnap. MS changed something in their file transfer protocol (I forget what exactly it was.. And I'm a network engineer so go figure) with Win 8 and it's impossible for a lot of folks to get backups going. There was a 'fix' floating around for Samba, but it didn't work for me. All my win 7 and linux boxes have no issues... It's just the only 2 win 8 boxes I have that refuse to work. I'm forced to back them up on my Zyxel NAS that I was trying to provision for another purpose.

kherr4377
Been there, done that
Posts: 898
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 3:33 am

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by kherr4377 » Sun May 11, 2014 4:01 am

I didn't know that there was a Win8 specific problem.
Production :
TVS-673 4.3.4 0387
4 X 3TB WD RED : 1 X 4TB HGST DESKSTAR R5
32GB
LAN-10G1SR-D, FiberHal for Cisco SFP-10G-SR
NETGEAR ProSAFE SS3300-28X

Backup :
TS-469L 4.3.4 0387
4 X 3TB WD RED R5
3GB
Located detached garage .. cheap offsite solution ...

2nd TS-469L awaiting drives and reassignment for front-line duty .......

uholmes
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 12:35 am

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by uholmes » Sun May 11, 2014 4:27 am

I shouldn't lump Acronis in.. It's not an Acronis issue. I get the same issue when using the built in Win 8 system backup. If I point the destination to my Zyxel, no issues. There are a few threads floating around about it.

uholmes
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 12:35 am

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by uholmes » Sun May 11, 2014 4:27 am

I shouldn't lump Acronis in.. It's not an Acronis issue. I get the same issue when using the built in Win 8 system backup. If I point the destination to my Zyxel, no issues. There are a few threads floating around about it.

goldfinger
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 5:34 pm

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by goldfinger » Sun Jun 29, 2014 8:11 pm


  • backup for pc data
  • dlna / media server for wlan music player, xbox360
  • networkshare for smartphones (there are android apps)
  • tbc: irc client, maybe mailserver (to be compiled)

chrischambers
Know my way around
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 8:10 pm
Location: UK

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by chrischambers » Wed Jul 02, 2014 3:09 pm

I am slowy adding more functions to mine but at the moment I have

-Media storage = All my Movies and TV Films
-Data back-up = Using True Image to backup all data
-Data storage = Home Folders and misc stuff.
-Print Server
Regards

Chris
-------------
QNAps = TS - 469 Pro
Firmware = 4.3.4.1463 Build 2020/10/06
RAID 5= 11TB | Disk1 = ST4000VN000-1H4168 | Disk2 = ST4000VN000-1H4168 |
Disk3 = ST4000VN000-1H4168 |Disk4 = ST4000VN000-1H4168

Other Storage = Unraid; Resources = Plex ; Grafana

kekec777
Starting out
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 3:22 pm

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by kekec777 » Wed Jul 02, 2014 10:47 pm

I use mine for :

Data storage
Phone picture and phone contacts - Sync directly photo from mobile to qnap
Plex server
Xbmc
Homepage + with php admin to block ip adr.
Rtorrent - also controlled from mobile / tablet
Vbox - Installed Win. xp sp3 - controlled from http or mstsc

i have a ts-269l

User avatar
dgiaffe
Starting out
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 8:52 am
Contact:

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by dgiaffe » Wed Jul 16, 2014 1:04 pm

Totally still exploring, but so far I am using my Qnap for:
- Plex Server for media content (Movies and TV Shows only, streaming my music with Google Music)
- Teamspeak Server
- BT Downloads
- Google Drive backup (All of my pics and important data are on the cloud. The QNAP is one of the copies if it EVER fails)
- Unifi Controller of Ubiquiti Access Points (I just have one access point lol, but turns out to be really handy!) :geek:
- Starting to fiddle with the Virtualization Station, but haven't found any use for it yet. Wanted to put a virtual Sophos UTM (aka Astaro) Firewall, but i didn't find a way to put two virtual network cards in two different vlans.

I'm really happy as most of the services and products I'm using had an option of a QPKG so therefore it was a really smooth process.

I might just edit that post if I add other stuff in the future :D
Dgiaffe
QNAP TS-670 Pro
16 GB RAM DDR3 1600 GSkill Ripjaw 1.35V
5x 4TB WD SE in RAID10 (4+1 Hot Spare) + 1 250GB Samsung 840 EVO SSD Caching

atacama40
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 10:22 pm

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by atacama40 » Thu Aug 07, 2014 4:07 pm

TS-410 2x3TB Hitachi .... 2 to add

1. Store movies to stream via RJ45 to networked Panasonic TV's
2. As a Sonos server to Sonos boxes around home
3. Trying to set up remote access stuff to a Nexus 7 - mixed success, getting better
4. As the normal store for music, photos, video, documents
5. Need to set up for backup's for devices but again struggling a bit to get that going reliably

Highly reliable box and software if a little difficult for non-competents to configure

engineer
Starting out
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 4:42 am

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by engineer » Tue Feb 24, 2015 1:18 am

I'm new to NASes and am using it for:
- data storage for documents, ebooks, audiobooks, videos
- Plex server for internal and external of home network access
- iPhone auto-upload photo backups

Possible future uses:
- iTunes server
- FTP server for occasionally transferring files
- Wordpress site host
- either OwnCloud or Bittorrent Sync server
- music server to stream to Denon Heos wireless speaker system
- storage for Adobe Lightroom catalog
- run Windows 10 virtualization
- video surveillance server
- Time Machine backups
TS-451 | v4.1.3 Build 0217 | 2 x 4GB (Kingston) | 1 x WD Red 5TB | Mac OS X El Capitan | Opera

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 9399
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Thu Feb 26, 2015 3:40 pm

right now i just use my qnap for storage purposes. mostly for my media such as videos, music, manga....

i also stream alot via mpc hc playback to watch videos, or using foobar2000 to listen to music.

i do it either from my pc desktop or smartphone :}


I use to host a website from my qnap, but i have a very wonky performance experience where apache will come to a stand still and require a restart for apache way too often for it to be usable. i don't know what is wrong but till it gets fixed, i've disabled web server.

i wanted to try moving my site onto nginx but i don't know how to configure nginx site securely or how to migrate from apache to nginx.
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 +16gb ddr4 Crucial+ QWA-AC2600 wireless+QXP PCIE
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TL-D400S 2x 4TB WD Red Nas (WD40EFRX) single disks.
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228
[^] QNAP TS-128
[Mobile NAS] TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Win10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review
https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

Kalma
Starting out
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 8:31 pm

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by Kalma » Mon Mar 09, 2015 6:12 pm

I own a TS-212 model, which is kinda limited in its CPU capabilities. I have tried to boost performance, so I disconnected almost everything (Media Library, Video Station, Media Station, Photo Station and so on), keeping it as simple and free of background processes as possible. I use it for:

At home:
- Media Repository (thru NFS), to stream media to a Raspberry Pi with XBMC-OPENELEC.
- DLNA Server, usingTwonky, to stream media directly to a Smart TV (Search for new media interval set to 15 minutes).
- Radio broadcasting (over the LAN), using IceCast

Over the Internet (accessible from anywhere using myqnapcloud):
- Media Repository: File Station (on the Web Server GUI) from PC, or QFile on Android.
- If I have enough connection speed, I stream directly to the browser using VLC. If not enough speed, then I download the media first, using HTTP.
- Share data with friends and family, using a guest account, with just File Station available.
- Radio broadcasting (over the Internet), using IceCast

... Simple and fast, but very effective.

BlissSol
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 4:06 pm

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by BlissSol » Sat Jun 27, 2015 7:16 pm

I just deployed a TS-420U & TS-120 inside a Business...

The TS-420U has 3 x 2TB + 1 x 4TB HDD's...
3 of these Hard Disks are in a RAID
It acts as a central File Server for the Business (syncing with AD on a Server 2012 R2 system),
And VPN Access for staff

The TS-120 does a daily backup of the 3 HDD's in RAID on the TS-420U

The 4th Hard Disk (4TB) in the TS-420U does a monthly backup of the TS-120.

Both NAS Systems are housed in Separate Building's (owned by the 1 company) ~ its figured the likelihood of both building's going up in flames or broken into at the same time, is quite unlikely. Additionally, in the past we've had either USB HDD's or Tape Backup's to be taken offsite overnight - but staff we're useless in remembering to do it... so alot of the time there would never be offsite backup's.

We don't backup local PC's to the NAS, as the business uses Google Apps - and we've just synchronized the local PC with Google Drive for backup.

kanylbullen
Starting out
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:44 pm

Re: What are you doing with your Qnap?

Post by kanylbullen » Sun Nov 15, 2015 7:02 am

I have an old SS-839 Pro. The DOM module, where the QNAP OS is installed failed a while back so I ordered a new one on ebay. To get my files back that were on the RAID disks i figured it would be worth a try to boot from a ubuntu stick. It not only worked but it worked quite well so I decided to install Ubuntu Server 14.04 on my Qnap. I have been running that for a while, working perfectly. My linux skills are somewhat limited so today I decided to try installing windows on it instead. I had already upgraded the RAM to the maximum 2GB so i prepared a USB stick with Windows 10 32-bit and gave it a go!

Image
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Miscellaneous”